You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: London for Stuckism

in #waivio2 months ago

I was owner/pastry chef/chief bottle washer. I miss the energy of the kitchen, but live happily without the hogwash of the office, which is where the owner ends up, slaving away at paperwork, insurance shopping, and regulation compliance. It comes with nice tax deductions though. I miss those, now that I'm back to being a retired normie, scrambling around trying to find tax deductions so that I am paying less to poison or murder people, mostly brown people, world wide. The whole tax-deferred retirement account thing comes back to bite us in retirement, too. Thankfully, I didn't go that route. I'm at the age where I would lose a nice sum in social security were I to do what I keep suggesting that you do (become a state citizen, not a federal citizen). How hard it is to give up "free" money, especially when it's thousands of dollars a month. I'm thinking about it though, thanks, in large part, to you.

Rose has a gorgeous voice! She's awful good on the harp too! You both rock!

It looks like you were all in heaven at the gathering, raising the frequency of the whole world. It's nice just to know you all exist. May that kind of get-together be frequent for all of you, wherever you go. You attract such.

What's happening in this regard in Oswego? I get kind of close to that town fairly often, close enough to join now and then if possible. Do you have art shows there? I'd love to come.

Sort:  

Don’t give up money you worked for!
I have lived under the table for so long. My Social Security will be a pittance. Not even enough to pay utilities. I’m almost proud about that, but we’ll see how I feel when the starving time comes:)
It was heavenly, out of this world, traveling across the ocean to open arms of folks we’ve never met. Great people, and we’ll do it again. Hopefully I can return the favor and host them in beautiful North country.
I promise to give you a head’s up for any exhibtions, live performance, or general big bases with friendly artsy folk. Oswego is a college town, but isolated from bigger cities. A lot of cool people from around the country (and world) settle here. The local art scene, believe it or not, is more robust than the one we experienced in London. Mostly among the over 40 crowd. The youngins are running away to the unhappiness of exhorbitant rents and 6 lane highways, thinking that’s right living.
This would be a great artist community. Affordable, beautiful scenery, intersting people, and deep winter to hide from all of it.
I will pass on the compliment to Rose. In May we begin band practice again. Get her on stage:)

Thanks. I'd love to come. I go to Auburn regularly, less than an hour's drive away.

I live in a town like yours, but much smaller. I imagine that you love summer in Oswego, without the students. The college here is a vocational outpost of a SUNY college 15 miles away in Alfred. Lots of artists here, too, the hills are teeming with them. No Stuckists that I know of, and the covid con wiped out any vibrancy the music scene once had. My life is much easier than my previous 40 or more years living near or in NYC. Maybe your kids will move back when they retire, as I did.

Affordable, beautiful scenery, intersting people, and deep winter to hide from all of it.

I love it here.

You’re in eccentric brilliant people capital of earth. I know the area a little bit. So far left that they’re right, and vice-versa. Apolitical because they’re above and below herd politics. Artists of life.
Yes. We live near the college. When the students leave, it’s ours. Shoreline and all!

You’re in eccentric brilliant people capital of earth.

Idk about that, but there sure are all types, working together, paying each other in hardcopy cash. We have enormous Amish and Mennonite communities here. They provide us with just about anything we really need, especially good work-working skills, and uncontaminated wood. They sure know how to make donuts.

Apolitical because they’re above and below herd politics.

The closer we get to Alfred U, the farther we go from apolitical. But here in my town of Wellsville, politics is hardly even a thing. Tai Chi is readily available all over the place. It's both very odd and very easy to live here. Alcohol is a bit too much the only thing to do, though. Hillbillies drink with college professors. A really nice brewery and arts center, our bits of downright erudite. Interesting.

You just described my town, minus the Amish, Mennonites, and good donuts.
“...both very odd and very easy to live here.” I’ll take that mantra with me on my day walks.