100 Word Story Contest, Winners of Week Three - "FOOL". Three Terrific Tales.

in #100words7 years ago

img

Image: @homeartpictures

The Steemit 100 Word Story Contest “Fool” has again produced some fantastic writing.

Congratulations to all who took part. Judging such a contest of quality ... is an occupation fit for a ‘fool’!

Special thanks to @meesterboom for his generous sponsorship of this initiative.

The support of SteemTrail is a constant; huge thanks, guys. We hope that many more will be inspired to "take up the pen" in Week Four which will be announced tomorrow, 3rd April.

img

The Winners of Week Three

'FOOL'

⌘ ⌘

Third Place receives 100 TRAIL and 4 STEEM

“fool” by @masyl

He was so devious
With behaviour very mischievous
if you ask me he was hideous
the words he spoke seemed meaningless
the way he walked in haughtiness
he come across heartless
withheld his stern grouchiness
never believed in cleanliness
throughout his bossiness
he was never successful in his kindness
stuck in his stubbornness
when it came to others he was careless
despite his hardness
he had a dark sadness
making him in loneliness
it was none he would trust
people viewed him in disgust
he would always be so cruel
he seemed to always ridicule
ultimately he was the fool

img

Second Place receives 200 TRAIL and 6 STEEM

"Janet's Question." by @henry-gant

Janet’s question
or:
How I learned to stop listening to Janet and started writing while ignoring her help.

“I'm writing a post about you for Steemit’s 100-words Story Contest, it's called . . .
Janet’s question.”

Janet leaned forward on her elbow . . . her hand now supporting her head, “Why waste words on a title?” She asked.

“It’s not wasting words if it's part of the story,” I responded.

She went full facepalm, “Only a fool like you would waste words on a title," she said.

I leaned forward, “Waste words? . . . let me show you how to waste words on a title.”

img

First Place 1st place receives 400 TRAIL and 10 STEEM

When you wake from whence you've woken. by @dwinblood

Today I woke up to a song. I've heard the song before. Someone knocked on my door and was nothing but micro-aggressions. I hate it when they invade my safe space. I resisted the urge to tell them how wrong that is as I didn't want to signal virtue. I turned on the TV to my favorite news outlet. I loaded up my mental tanks with the truth for the day. Another day of traitors and terrorists. Will they never learn? It's raining inside. I awake again. The mirror never lies and shaving cream upon my forehead says FOOL.

⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘

img

The winning stories will be announced each Sunday and published here on steemit and on other Social Media Platforms such as Twitter and Facebook.

img

The organisation of this contest has been given huge support by the guys at SteemTrail.

If you have not already done so, head over to the SteemTrail Discord server and check out what they’re up to.

You will need an Open Ledger Account which is free. Simply click the Trail Coin and follow the instructions. For a Streemian Account, click the Streemian logo.

imgimg

Thank you from your 100 Words Contest organiser, please follow, upvote, resteem, generally be terribly nice to @ebryans

img

Sort:  

Congrats winners! Enjoyed reading them!

They are good aren't they! I am receiving some very kind words from the Short Story Groups I have been finding.

Hi! I don't know if you read my piece. I couldn't set the #100words tag as the first one.
Not much about winning but I was expecting one comment if you read.
Thanks again for the contest.

CHARLEMAGNE123