Summer Holidays

in #holidays4 years ago

As a reward for almost four months of Furlough - drinking beer, excising, and playing on Hive, I've booked two week holiday to Spain!

IMG_0221.JPG

It's been just over a year since I left Mallorca to return home to England, and although I've not felt the weight of the often grey clouds get the better of me, I am very much looking forward to blue skies and vitamin sea. I'm heading to the region of Andalucía, it's a part of Spain that I have visited in the past but on lads holidays, there is not too much sightseeing taking place - at least on in the traditional sense ;)

With Covid-19 magically disappearing for the summer months (while the European/global economy desperately tries to recoup some loses), it is now possible for Brits to travel to and from a host of countries without being forced into a two week quarantine on arrival or returning home.

IMG_0917.JPG

I wondered though if my work would be OK with me travelling at this time, and the answer was a resounding yes. Businesses are in a tricky situation where much of the workforce have a bunch of vacation to take before the end of the year. Even though it's likely that the number of days allowed to be carried over to 2021 will be increased, there will probably be times where there is only a skeleton crew in the office.

And so my boss was most pleased to hear that I was looking for a holiday during the next couple of weeks, before I (probably) return to work on the 27th July. The additional bonus for me is that if I take holiday whilst on Furlough I am paid full salary, so i'll be getting paid a little more than of late at the end of this month.

Which is good, because the flights were not cheap. It's going to take me most of the day to make journey each way - A stopover in Milan, and then in Barcelona on the way home is a bit crap, but I'm sure I can find something to do to past the time - like drink over-priced airport beer and write a blog.

I'll be staying with a friend, overlooking Cadiz, and 'free' accommodation certainly helps offset the travel costs. The plan is to travel light, as I didn't fancy paying another 140 euros for a suitcase, and buy a couple of things on location, or do a lot of washing :)

As far as things to do, we are both into our fitness and sports and so I'm hoping there will be cycling, swimming, padel, and volleyball, as well as some of the more traditional sports (so I actually have a chance of winning something) such as Pool and Table-tennis. When I lived in Spain, I saw and heard a fair amount of padel being played, but didn't get the opportunity myself. @sulayr, by all accounts, it's a bit of a demon at padel and Volleyball, and so I've already conceded defeat, which is a bitter pill to swallow.

IMG_9924.JPG

I'm told this part of the country is extremely flat, unless venturing inland, and so hiring a bike makes sense. Hopefully the number of tourists around will be low and I can get a bargain on the hire - and the bike needs to be fast, I'm not losing this one!

Hopefully I'll remember to take some photos, and there will probably be some taken of me whilst I cry into my beer following another sporting defeat.

IMG_0222.JPG


Before this, I hope to find a place with a beer garden close to home as the pubs are open again for tomorrow. However, I'm not going to be fighting any crowds to make this happen, and have the feeling that the whole country will be on the lash tomorrow - the plan is to be out of the country before the 2nd wave arrives, and maybe I can extend the holiday further? :D

Cheers all, have a good weekend!

Asher

Sort:  

It is so nice to be out again! Feel happy for you @abh12345 !!
Have been locked down at home since I finish my internship in May, hopefully would be able to go out soon haha. Anyways, great post! ;)

Thanks very much, I hope you and the rest of the world can be free again soon!

!ENGAGE 15

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Wow, que bellos paisaje y exelentes fotografias, gracias por compartir te dejo mi voto y te sigo.

Gracias @comandoyeya :)

!ENGAGE 15

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Good decision - I would love to join but these days are tough out there in business and private life at the moment, not to mention what is happening here and in crypto. Enjoy the time there - my vacation plans include only work for 2020.

Thanks :)

Yeah I understand, and this is only possible due to free accommodation for my stay at friends. After this, back to work, where i'll hopefully still have a job.

!ENGAGE 15

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

You’ve earned your holidays for sure!

😆

Reviving the economy, helping my employer, getting paid a little more, and sunshineeee!

the gif :D

My only gif production, I like it :D

Time to re-read Alchemist ....

B446432F0DC74EF5B104C01D809B6EC8.jpeg

Quite possibly my favourite story :) I am long overdue a re-read.

See! I understand your requirements :).... I am feeling like a re-read myself.

I even have a spot for it :)

46E5BC170DEF418E8363A90507F7EF02.jpeg

I'll be taking Born A Slave, only read the first chapter!

The Alchemist is such a great book, and it has perhaps influenced my 'drifting' lifestyle. Ah well, maktub :)

Thanks to you and this conversation I have started reading the Alchemist again. I am already finished with one-third. Yeah Maktub!

The book feels quite different now compared to 15 years back when I first read it. I guess that's why people call it classic.

I am going to have to buy it again, for the 4th time :)

$11 on kindle, $10 new paperback, $5 used, but with shipping about $10.

Perfect addition, and what a landscape :)

Awesome. Bloody enjoy it!!

It's weird that flights are expensive, you think they would make them cheap so that people almost couldn't refuse!

Yeah I was hoping they would be cheap as chips - perhaps the whole of the UK is wanting a summer break asap? Cheers!

Could be, maybe they are being clever and maximising the hordes that are gonna fly!

Bastados. Next time, a speedboat!

A hovercraft!!!! :0D

They don't look too speedy, I will require plenty of onboard entertainment! :O

Enjoy. I guess you have earned it? :P

Cheers :)

Yeah, it's been grueling stuff of late, what a bizarre year we've had so far!

So far? Just wait.

Ever the optimist :)

Have you seen 2020??? :D

It was touted to be one to remember - all going to plan thus far!

Flying sharks:

Godzilla:
https://mobile.reuters.com/article/amp/idUSKBN23X2TN

What next? Massive volcano?

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!

Always time for a !BEER cheers!


Hey @amico, here is a little bit of BEER from @abh12345 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @abh12345, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Drinking over priced beer? And blogging to pass time? I thought you were avoiding spending too much and looking to get s pacy bike? Lol guess you didn't have a choice hahaha

I will nurse that beer for the whole of the transfer time :)

Got my bike already!

Hahaha have a pacy ride then I'm guessing it'll be thrilling

Only if I am victorious :D

Enjoy the sun and great outdoors after sitting for so long one really longs to just make a break.

Great your boss is happy for you to take leave and escape, have a good one!

Thank you :)

Yes it works for the business, otherwise the whole company will want to be off August/September!

Congratulations @abh12345! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout of the day

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You are sure going to have fun ... i can deel it already.. I play tableast tennis a lot.. i hope to challenge you some day.. have fun and stay safe

Thank you :)

I'd love a game of Table-tennis, it's been far too long.

Make sure you win when you play..

Well enjoy, you've earned it, I'll look forward to a few 'lifestyle posts', and do make sure you do a selfie-on-plane-post, I love those!

I remember that lilo GIF!

Have a !BEER too.

Cheers!

A plane selfie with no text? Gotcha :)

The only gif I've ever made, you'll be seeing it again I'm sure!

Maybe that should be your holiday project - more giffs.


Hey @abh12345, here is a little bit of BEER from @revisesociology for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Have fun in Andalucia. If you feel like spending a day inland go visit Ronda. A beautiful small town about 1hr drive from Marbella.
image.png

Wow! That is going on the list, cheers!

vitamin sea.

I see what you did there.

Well played sir. Well played.

You deserve a break and I'm glad you've locked it in. I'll be looking forward to seeing many beer-crying photos...And the happy ones too!

Stolen from @surfermarly that one :)

Cheers mate, i'll try not to disappoint with the beery selfies.

80085 selfies too I'm sure.

Plenty of nude beaches to visit ;)

Dude...You know we're going to expect 80085 I ages right? Yours or other people's...

Lol.

I'll see what I can do for you :D

You have fans. 😂

As all the normal comments about 'having a nice time' have already been posted, and of course, I am sure you will I thought I'd post you a nice tune to send you happily on your way........

'A friend' :-)

LOL

Better than coronavirus being in the air I guess, cheers!

Reading about such outdoor trips in this time of corona seems so painful to me !!! I miss the world !!! :( :(

But I am happy for you !! I wish this all ends soon and we all could also go out and enjoy.

But stay safe !!! Its quite risky out there!! Take care. :)

The world is opening up again :D

I guess we'll have to wear masks on the plane, but I'm hoping Coronavirus is gone for the summer.....

Thank you!

The world is opening because life goes on. Businesses need to continue. But the danger is as much as it was before.

Stay safe.

Yes there is still a concern, I will try to be safe, thank you :)

Sounds like you are in for a great trip to get your ass padel'd. Will be great to get away for a couple weeks and do anything and you should be "guaranteed" good weather?

you are in for a great trip to get your ass padel'd

I didn't pay enough for this experience :)

Weather is looking top notch, probably too hot to be exercising and playing sports but i shall give it a go.

Here is some !BEER from me as well enjoy.

I only had beer when I was in Italy and it was ok. Scotch was my favorite.

Thank you kindly, !BEER is good when more people are drinking it, makes me feel less guilty :D


Hey @teenagecrypto, here is a little bit of BEER from @abh12345 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @abh12345, here is a little bit of BEER from @teenagecrypto for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

i didn't make any tour for last months because of this corona virus situation. dont know when everything will be okay. but one thing i k ow that, when everything will be ok, i will go directly to the sea. i will sleep on the beach with beer.

honey, have a nice holiday.

Thank you sweetie :D

Padel sounds like it would be a fun game, table tennis meets squash. Enjoy your vacation.

Cheers :)

Yes that's exactly how I envision it - table tennis mixed with squash. I'm hoping that's the case because I've played a bit of each.

You'll have to try and do a 3speak video or dtube video to show us what it was like.

I will try :)

Well you have so many happy send offs here in the comments Ash that it's hard to find anything to add here.
But yeah go and enjoy it deservedly!

I do, very fortunate.

Thank you, I think it'll be an awesome couple of weeks.

Especially as this covid thing has upset the entire tourist business and there might be good bargains available for owners that want to catch up to the lost income that they suffered during the lockdown.

Yes I hope so, particularly with regards to bicycle hire. If there is a shop full then I think they'll be keen to lease at a good price.

And the best thing is that you can pick and choose the exact bike that you want.
When most of them have been leased to the crowds, one normally has to settle for the scraps.

I’m envious of your furlough and then holiday in the sun! I’ve worked from home whilst juggling childcare but it does look like we’ll get a week in Venice in August if there isn’t a second spike! Have fun 🍺

Ouch :) I have friends who've done the same as you and the reviews are not good!

I hope you get a holiday and avoid any spikes, thank you!

Super happy for you that you get to go somewhere! That area is pretty nice; much of my misspent youth happened down near Algeciras and beyond, about 100km away... I'd say it's a bit touristy in the summer, but with the current stuff, maybe not. Either way, have an amazing time! And send sunshine, because around here it's feeling more and more like England...

Thank you!

Yes I do remember reading that you spent some of your younger years in southern Spain. That's pretty cool I say :)

More tourists is more people to overtake on the bike, but there could be fewer right now for sure. There will almost certainly be sunshine though, enough to share and so I hope everyone gets at least some.

Hello dear friend @ abh12345 Good afternoon
Excellent news, good that your employment department had no problem allowing vacation days.
I think you have an excellent plan, it sounds very funny, especially about the beer after the games.
Enjoy it dear friend
I appreciate you letting us know.
Happy Holidays

Good day @jlufer

Thank you for the kind wishes, I hope it'll be a great vacation.

Have a lovely weekend yourself.

no doubt they will be dear friend @ abh12345, you have everything planned, things hardly go wrong when you plan.
Have fun. Successes

Padel & Beach Volley vs. table tennis & cyclying... I think it's going to be evenly matched :P
I am happy you can finally visit Spain again ;)

Hopefully 2-2 on those activities, but if there are other games on the sand I will have a sinking feeling!

Thank you for the invite :D

@abh12345, Hope that this Vacation will turn into Abundant Time for you.

Good wishes from my side and enjoy your vacation time. Stay blessed always.

Thank you @chireerocks, have a lovely weekend :)

Welcome and thank you so much for your kind response. Stay blessed.

Have a nice holiday! 😊

Thank you very much!

Ooooo I am so happy for you! Somebody is going to get back with a tan hihi.

Buen viaje! My google spanish to you lol

Gracias!!

Yes I'm hoping for a little colour, I feel so much better when lightly toasted :D

Amazing, I enjoyed visiting your post. Thanks @abh12345

Thanks for visiting! :)

Fantastic man I’m glad you’re taking some time off! Get those knickers some sun and enjoy some beers! Spain is beautiful for sure, look forward to seeing some pictures!

Will do, might even get the cheeks out for a little sunshine too :D

Oh man I was going to say you need to get them tiddies out for sunshine! I didn’t think of the nude beaches but it’s great, must feel refreshing to get some sunshine on the cheeks!

If I mistook the wrong cheeks, LOL then you need to visit the nude beach now anyways!

Happy holidays, mate. Those summer days in Spain sounds like a heap of fun, so make sure you have many a photos ready for our amusement. We keenly await your return...

Sooooo happy for you. I'm sure England is getting back to normal now pubs are open and Spain is open..almost wish we had stayed. Almost.

So beautiful view