Hashers not Trashers

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY10 months ago

As a group we appear to be a bunch of silly people, mostly men, that like to go out and get drunk and maybe get a bit of exercise in. Well that is basically the idea of the group but there is more to us than that. All of us, and I speak for HHH globally when I say this, are very concerned about the preservation of the environment that we are in. Here in Chiang Mai and around the world we are dedicated to cleaning up the trails that we run on as much as possible.

Some of our runs are dedicated to doing exactly that and the competition takes a back seat to us cleaning up the areas that we run in.


image.png
src

All around the world including here in Chiang Mai, we will have runs where everyone leaves the start line of the run with a bag intended for collecting garbage along the way. The objective on these runs is not just to finish the run but to pick up garbage along the way. You will get a lot more kudos for returning with a bunch of trash than you will for finishing quickly. Coming back with no garbage on these events is a great way to end up on the ice. If you come back with the most trash you will be awarded with getting put on the ice as well. Just no matter what you do you are going to end up on the ice - remember this.


image.png

I'm not trying to get all preachy on anyone because we use a lot of this stuff on our runs as well because we have a ton of plastic water bottles. We recycle them though and don't just discard them in the jungle. That is the number one thing that we see on our runs and sometimes there is a ton of it all in one place. Sometimes these trash heaps are contained in or near national parks as well and I can't relate to the kind of person that would pay to visit a national park and then discard their plastic bottles on the ground, but that is what a lot of people do, apparently.


image.png

During these runs the trail itself is normally a lot shorter and in the shade a bunch more because the objective isn't to finish quickly, it is to clean up the trail as much as possible. We focus primarily on plastic garbage but the number 2 item that we see a lot of on trails are cigarette butts.


image.png

I was a smoker for a while but I was the polite kind. I think that even in Thailand that the people are very aware of the fact that the butts are just going to stay there for ages and take hundreds of years to break down, yet people still just throw them everywhere. This is especially dumb when you consider that this part of Thailand is very prone to wildfires during the dryer times of year and we are in one of those times of year now.

It can be a bit surprising how much garbage we are able to collect on just a 3km walk in the woods with 20 people and while we do not do this for personal recognition, I think it would be nice to point out to the national park people how much garbage we are able to collect in such a short amount of time.

Certainly they could do more to prevent this but in the meantime we are happy to do their jobs for them. The funny thing is at one of these national parks that we go to the staff are very aware of the fact that we are coming there to basically do the rangers' jobs for them, yet they still charge us an entrance fee. We don't argue, but it seems a bit shitty of them to do that.

I suppose we should just be happy that they don't ask all of us to provide proof of work permits since it is technically illegal for us to do this "work."

We are still doing a minimum of 3 runs per week and if you would like to join us all are welcome. See our full schedule at our official website


Screen-Shot-2012-11-10-at-14.24.06.png

Sort:  

I really appreciate this kind of notion. It takes a lot of human discipline not to throw garbages anywhere and I can relate with that garbage butt, there's a lot of that anywhere in streets in Philippines. I hope people will see that throwing garbages anywhere is really disrespectful.

 10 months ago  

I hope people will see that throwing garbages anywhere is really disrespectful.
It would be really nice if they did but some people just don't seem to really care about anything.

 10 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

As someone who was once (or twice, or thrice!) a Hasher in different locations I reckon I might have to see if we can join you for a run when we visit Chiang Mai later in the year. I like to consider myself a "reformed hasher" however, can you ever really be reformed? Once a hasher, always a hasher, I reckon.

My partner is a bigger runner too, though I don't believe he's been indoctrinated into the hash ways. So we might need to initiate him. 😁

BTW, I tried clicking the link to see your normal hash schedule for runs and it looks like it links back to this post?

!LOL !PIZZA

 10 months ago  

thanks for the heads up on the link. I'll look into that. I am a Hasher after all so me doing something incorrectly is basically the norm.

Please do come and join us if you are in the area!

Also, I don't think that Hashers ever become reformed... perhaps a bit more conservative on the drinking but being silly is something I hope I never grow out of.

Ah, agreed. Yes, my drinking behaviour has changed significantly but I'm more silly then ever! !LOL

Look forward to seeing your website. Want to drop the link here?

My father wants me to study law and be a good lawyer
He needs me to get him out of jail.

Credit: vaipraonde
@chaingmai.hhh, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of consciouscat

(2/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Why is Peter Pan always flying?
Because he Neverlands

Credit: reddit
@chaingmai.hhh, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of consciouscat

(1/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@consciouscat(1/5) tipped @chaingmai.hhh