Feature Request: Flag Rewards

in #steemit7 years ago

TL;DR: The idea here is that users who wield flags well should get some kind of incentive for being so effective.


First, I think all flags should have four times the weight of up-votes. So you can only flag 10 times per day before your overall voting power starts to suffer. Then, flags should also have a default in the UI of 25%, so nothing changes.

I'd also like to see a reward/punishment system in flagging. If you are the first person to flag a post that has a large payout, and the payout later becomes zero, there should be a reward for the first flag. The reward should be a 24 boost to voting power.

But if the post doesn't become zero, you should have a voting power reduction for 24 hours.

Sort:  

Flagged this post to test out the theory. loading... (edit) LOL Someone flagged me.

We got some of that here, @steemflagrewards.
Thanks to @anthonyadavisii.

I opted in to your stingy coin, but think the odds of actually minting one seem rare.

I think we can stab the problem at different angles. I currently estimate that there's about 5 posts a day that qualify for stingy payout. Of course, for the moment, most of them have no opt-in.

So basically, this is your chance to "ninjamine" STINGY. :D

5 posts that should've gone to trending get voted to zero?
Daily?
That i gotta see, got a link?

It might help to loosen the purse a little and give the first 3 a bonus?

For example:

https://steemit.com/@michaelleeld/65pjx2

That would have been on about the 35th page of trending if it weren't for the flags.

Good 'ol spaminator.
I was one of its first delegators.
I pulled it when ned showed up.

So, i guess i need to start abuse hunting.
Have you told the fellas at @steemflagrewards?

I have an off-topic question...at the time I'm writing this, you have 62 votes but only 3 'eyeballs'. Does that mean only 3 people have actually opened up your suggestion?

As for flagging, I have no clue. Seems to me that personal attacks should be worthy of a flag. But the way it is all calculated behind the scenes, I'll leave it to you experts :-)

What is your avatar supposed to mean? My first impression was, I (middle finger) New Jersey, but on closer inspection maybe it's, I (dig) New Jersey?

I dig New Jersey. I'm a gardener. Get it?

I have an off-topic question...at the time I'm writing this, you have 62 votes but only 3 'eyeballs'. Does that mean only 3 people have actually opened up your suggestion?

I believe this is true. Many people follow curation trails, which means they've been able to follow someone's votes, and however that person they're following votes, they vote the same way automatically. If you have a person with 20, 30, or maybe 40 people following them, then when that person votes, all the followers vote on that same thing with the same voting strength...yet only the main person in that trail opened the thread to physically see it.

Yes, 3 sets of eyeballs from steemit.com.

But there are more clients than steemit.com. The mobile apps don't count. Other websites like busy.org don't count. I would also not be surprised to find out that the eyeball counter is broken, resulting in a low count.

There are also votes that come in from the thumbnail view, so those don't count as eyeballs.

But even with the above exceptions, a majority of votes come from curation guilds and other automation, as @winstonwolfe pointed out. With all things considered 62/3 still seems like pitiful engagement numbers.

seems pitiful to me too. I get the 'curation trails', but I guess I just use this platform the old fashioned way...opening a thread and reading it :-)