You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feature Request: Flag Rewards

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have an off-topic question...at the time I'm writing this, you have 62 votes but only 3 'eyeballs'. Does that mean only 3 people have actually opened up your suggestion?

I believe this is true. Many people follow curation trails, which means they've been able to follow someone's votes, and however that person they're following votes, they vote the same way automatically. If you have a person with 20, 30, or maybe 40 people following them, then when that person votes, all the followers vote on that same thing with the same voting strength...yet only the main person in that trail opened the thread to physically see it.

Sort:  

Yes, 3 sets of eyeballs from steemit.com.

But there are more clients than steemit.com. The mobile apps don't count. Other websites like busy.org don't count. I would also not be surprised to find out that the eyeball counter is broken, resulting in a low count.

There are also votes that come in from the thumbnail view, so those don't count as eyeballs.

But even with the above exceptions, a majority of votes come from curation guilds and other automation, as @winstonwolfe pointed out. With all things considered 62/3 still seems like pitiful engagement numbers.

seems pitiful to me too. I get the 'curation trails', but I guess I just use this platform the old fashioned way...opening a thread and reading it :-)