Phill from GCHQ - page 48 - Early Hurly-Burly

in #comics6 years ago

So... the first page in the second part of Phill from GCHQ - We open with a mysterious flashback. None of the characters presented here have occured before... or have they?

if you look at these film-clip you might have an idea what is going on:


Early Hurly-Burly - Page 48 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Thanks to @vcelier there is a French translation, and thanks to @shortcut there is a German translation - new pages are published on their respective Steemit pages.

The page is made with Krita my favourite Linux drawing application, and is licenced under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License




Please consider to support the comic with fiat-money on:

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 1EpzfvHpvYui8dguG2sbxk7VvcehxZGNca

Ether: 0x779f31b12862e6d750cbbcdb9a2c315b44504d83

Litecoin: LcUeDDMSzhaGwMd7m6x1qptdNZ3nrPEyiq

Ripple: rBENrZprLN4sjiVEi8JX5rH48k1B9GK9Gd

Steem: here on Steemit :)


The comic is licensed as Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

Sort:  

BAM! What a beginning of the second part. I knew it already, but from now on I call you "The Shakespeare of Webcomics".

Thanks a lot for the background videos (Theresa May, really?), which are quite helpful to understand the context and get into the atmosphere.

I almost feel sorry for the poor PM when I see that clip, but I think she is rather devious as she cleverly turns it around and invokes an image of herself running around in the fields in exactly the time her voters long for... Anyway she and Boris Johnson came into the comic early and they have to play a part - and then Macbeth was simply too fitting as it is all about the evils of power and politics - I did read and reread the witches' lines many times to find a way to make it both funny ('ish) and seventies jargon ('ish)

  • the Bath festival, by the way, was a British equivalent to Woodstock and it did drown in rain. Many of the large acts like Jimi Hendrix and Pink Floyd got stuck in the endless queues on the narrow Sommerset roads, so Donovan had to entertain for hours! You really learn something when you research.

ooh a layer of mystery to the comic today, eh? Again, I really love your style. The panel with the perspective close up on the wheat sheave with the character running with braids in the background, really pulls me in. Like I'm hiding in the grass watching it all unfurl.

I'm still trying to learn more about CC? I mean do we just attach the logo and use the #creativecommons and then our work is available to share and rework? Sorry to seem so dense, but I see this often here am intrigued but can't seem to get an answer clear enough for my dense brain to get ;)

Again, Love your work!

Yes, it's easy like that :-)
You can go to the creative-commons website to choose a license and then add the html-code provided below your post. For an overview of available licenses, this infographic may be useful.
If you want to make the work as free as possible, you can also release it to the public domain.

Thanks! So glad to hear you know to appreciate all the detail I put in. As said in the other comment - you can simply write that you license the artwork CC and then provide the link to the Creative Commons website where the legal text can be found. Sometimes you can also put the info in the file meta-data, but that is a much more technical thing.

Have you been reading Macbeth again? Just curious 8-).

It was the first Shakespeare play I read, I was in Gymnasium when I was about 17, so it does have a special meaning to me. I have reread part of it for the comic as its themes of ruthless powerlust and dominance fits the surveillance-industry and its political heads a bit too good for comfort.

There is a quote from the play on the rather morbid page 32.

I thought I saw an echo of the opening lines of act I, scene I in the texts of the three witches hippie women. Just checking 8-).
I read Macbeth for the first time at age 17, in Gymnasium also.

Okay, that's hilarious. That caption panel alone takes the cake. (Or maybe in this case, it should be the loaf of bread.)

The kind of visual humour I have learned from Gilbert Shelton. I wrote about it here: https://steemit.com/comic/@katharsisdrill/phill-from-gchq-and-it-s-inspirations-freak-brothers

Theresa May is so awkward. Lol. If she was anything other than a politician I would feel a little bit bad for her. It does look like a younger Theresa in Panel 1 running through the fields. You were probably a little kind to her in the drawings. The way you use Orson Wells and music to anchor a feeling is the same way I am. I just ordered some Frank Baum Wizard of Oz books and to want to take our comic in that kind of fantasy direction (in a few months). Orson Welles is simply brilliant.

The art looks amazing. Very Robert Crumb!

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks mate! Crumb is the godfather of this comic :)

I can agree it looks a bit Crumbish, but pretty much anyone who makes black and white comics with more of an adult theme and "hatching" technique for shadows and shapes, get accused of copying Crumb, it is also a tiny bit unfair. Just saying...

It is true that when I started making the comic I wanted it to look a bit like Crumb, Shelton and the Danish Cartoonist Claus Deleuran. But it is also true that my hatching is probably more inspired by Jean Giraud/Moebius than Crumb,

I think "Crumb" kind of represents a whole "school" of more or less forgotten cartoonists... Shelton is king, I love Freak Brothers, they where going to make an animated movie out of that cartoon, I wonder what happened...

Yes, I remembered that... it was one of the early attempts on a crowdfunding - you could have your name written on as many frames as you had paid $ :)

Maybe the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers took off with all the cash? =)

@katharsisdrill
Really nice work man(/woman)! This Krita program, it is almost in indistinguishable to ink and paper?! Amazing!

I think that it does come quite close to the real thing.

Or maybe you are just good at using it, I mean some people can make amazing stuff with "MS Paint"...

Yes, that is true. I have worked a lot with how to make the tool look more handmade. You can read a bit about it here: https://steemit.com/comics/@katharsisdrill/making-of-a-comic-style-and-stalagmites

Sadly some of the images are missing as the old version of steemit supported some features that are not supported now. I plan to move the whole series to my own server...

That sounds interesting, I am going to check this out and read more, thanks a lot for sharing! This reminds me of the pre-internet days, when a comic book was the coolest thing ever.

so fanny.

Haha, yes, Fanny, indeed.

worth reading.. this is worth reading!

this is amazing as i was comics for your post and finally i got some great things to see thanks for posting ...

wow amazing post.

what a creativity!! lol..

Love cartoon!

Wow great post..thanks for sharing your post

interesting story is a friend

cool cartoon :D! now I understand what those hippies were talking about haha. Did I invite before you to the Discord server I'm running?