Phill from GCHQ - page 70 - Household Deity Harlotry

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Household Deity Harlotry - Page 70 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Previous page: Phill from GCHQ - page 69 - The Bwbach

Introduction to this weeks page

My wife really liked this page. It somehow perfectly matches her humour, and we can thank her for the fact that no penises are too small on this page. And talking about humour I just incidentally found this clip with Stephen Fry where he tries to explain the difference between English and American humour. It seems Phill is most definitely a typical English comic hero.

Apart from that the page also in a way a continuation of the story of Eleanor - It has been mentioned before (see for example this page) but in her later years Eleanor was quite mad. Gwendolyn's childhood have been a bit lacking in responsible grown ups and I did think of the film El laberinto del fauno when making the page. We also learn that Gwendolyn has more talents than just being domineering. She obviously sees and communicates with the many spirits of the British Isles that no one pays attention to any longer.

Happy reading.

Translations

Thanks to some very dedicated and helpful people the comic about Phill from GCHQ can also be read in other languages. New pages are published on their respective Steemit pages. Please follow them and support their work!

I would be very pleased if you considered supporting the comic with fiat-money on:

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 1EpzfvHpvYui8dguG2sbxk7VvcehxZGNca

Ether: 0x779f31b12862e6d750cbbcdb9a2c315b44504d83

Litecoin: LcUeDDMSzhaGwMd7m6x1qptdNZ3nrPEyiq

Bitcoin Cash: 17xXYeYrJWReqf9r2sgZf5QtigqvXeURUu

Steem: here on Steemit :)

The comic is, like all my digital artworks, made exclusively with open source software:


The comic is licensed as

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

Sort:  

I hope I come across some of the spirits of the British Isles, we can have a good chin wag :)

Your drawings are so amazing.

Goodmorning! I am sure you will. Just spill a little beer on the ground and they will come running - hopefully the less demanding sort :)

The creatures here are very much inspired by the Nisse/tompte of Scandinavia as I am not that familiar with how the Brits treat their ancient spirits. As far as I have heard the puritan streak in their culture was much harsher on the old ones than we were. Not that I have ever heard a story about a sexually demanding Nisse, but in Scandinavian folklore there is a lot of sexual undertones so I kind of built on that, mostly for the comedy (of the sort my wife likes) and to expand and complexify the character of Gwendolyn.

Hope you are settling in in a nice way!

We tend to neglect what spirits we may have, if we choose to believe in them. I think we could do with being closer to nature at least.

Yes, and as religion goes it is a nice, decentralised and personal way to go about it. For people with a spiritual need it somehow mirrors the move towards doing energy production, food production and recycling in our local community, to have the Gods in the attic and in the surrounding nature :)

@dismayedworld likes your comics despite being 15years old and the rather 'different' content shown!

She has asked me to ask you how to get started on designing comics, digital or otherwise?

In the instance of the former, is it Krita you use for comics as well as your other artwork?

Thanks.

She does? I am flattered. My youngest (10 years) looked at this page with tired eyes and a sigh. But at least I am not as explicit as their mother.

I have written a post made from the comment I initiated here. It became too damn long!

https://steemit.com/comics/@katharsisdrill/how-to-get-started-on-designing-comics

Thanks very much for doing this, I have replied on your other thread.

I hung out with @vcelier and @shortcut this week. One day I'll meet up with you too. This comic really is unique and more people should see it.

Shortcut mentioned it to me a while ago. Depending on how far away it is next year I will definitely consider going.

So that  is what it takes.

Yes. If you want a calm and harmonic house.

Forgot to mention: I would go for "burned down"  instead of "burned". For your consideration.

Yes, that is probably better.