Monochrome Monday – Alaska Ferry Terminal

Here’s a couple black and white photos for Monochrome Monday. I liked the way the equipment and gangplank looked at the Alaskan Ferry in black and white. It is fun to be down by the ocean and see the sights and smells. The ferry to Alaska is very expensive but maybe someday I would like to take it.

alaskaFerryBW.jpg
Alaska Ferry Terminal gangplank; black and white color by Google Photos – click for viewing full screen

Here’s a sailboat that was at the dock by the Ferry Terminal. These masts are really tall on this modern schooner. It is hard to imagine sitting up in a crows nest on one of the old time square rigged sailboats.

schooner_K400.jpg
Schooner at Alaska Ferry Terminal; Kodak 400 emulation – click for viewing full screen

Here’s the same boat shown in Technicolor 3 color emulation to give something like that old time picture postcard look.

schooner_T3.jpg
Schooner at Alaska Ferry Terminal; Technicolor 3 color – click for viewing full screen

Recent happenings

I couple of days ago I woke up in the middle of the night to some really violent rain drops coming down. Really strong unusual gusts of wind shook the house and then a really long thunder noise happened that lasted for several seconds. I wasn’t sure what made all the noise.

I was disc golfing today and took some pictures of these trees that were torn up by the roots. I’m pretty sure it happened during the recent storm I heard in the night. The ground here is very wet right now.

I thought the black and white processing gave this photo kind of an interesting feel.

babyCedar_KHEI.jpg
Baby Cedar Tree; Kodak HEI emulation – click for viewing full screen

Here’s a better view of the tops of the trees in color. You can see a couple of my new discs I bought for Christmas, “Little Pinky” and “Little Pinky Two.” The driver has become my very favorite long distance bomber disc ever, lol. After you search around for a disc in the grass, leaves or tree branches for an hour or more, you come to realize why hot pink is the best color for discs.

The tree tops of the cedar trees are looking very yellowish. These were not very healthy trees even though they are nowhere near the age of some of the old timers in the forests. It has been very dry in the summer and lots of the cedar trees are stressed.

Sometimes they use some really harsh smelling chemicals on the grass. Some kind of fertilizer and weed stopper or something I guess. I’m not sure but it could be part of the issue as well - I figure I might kick the bucket too if I had to stand all day in the park smelling that, lol. (Having the grass is nice though, this course is very beginner friendly.)

Off in the distance on the other side of the road you can see what some of the more native forests kind of look like around here – this is secondary forest that was cut recently though. The trees in the forests tend to do better in the storm because they support each other by blocking the wind. Plus if they do get partially knocked down, lots of times they will still keep growing.

There are a few disc golf courses in the forest areas around here too. I really like playing those too, but blackberry hedges can be a real problem if you throw your disc into them.

Here’s an idea for some entrepreneur out there. Cheap biodegradable disc golf discs with a chip inside that lets you locate the disk with a tracker on a cell phone application. That way you could more easily get them back, or if you toss them into the deep dark blackberries they would eventually degrade. Plus the chip could operate kind of like a “black box” and record all kinds of useful flight data metrics to review in case something goes horribly wrong with the disc flight and it goes crashing into a ball park sign or something. Hehehe. ;)

babyCedarTops.jpg
Baby Cedar Treetops; Google Photo color – click for viewing full screen

Processing for the second, third and forth photos was done using GIMP the free software photo editing application.


Special thanks to @old-guy-photos for hosting monochromemonday.

Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright 1/7/2019 lightsplasher & litesplasher.

Sort:  

That is valuable article and excellent photography.
Thanks @lightsplasher
Have a great day

Always a pleasure to see you in the tag!!! The gangplank almost has a Star Wars feel to it.

You need to affix one of those Tile trackers to the disc and save yourself a bunch of time LOL!! Of course I dont think they will help you to stay out of the blackberries!!! LOL

B&W is always fun to try and the tag helps me get into doing it, thanks for starting it! Those types of steel structures do give me a Star Wars kind of feel too.


"Ask not for the disc to fly into the blackberries... don't try, do...," said the master to the apprentice disc golfer. With that, the apprentice took one look at the gantlet of blackberries hedging both sides of the narrow fairway and walked away in disgust saying, "An apprentice has got to know his limitations." LOL.

I love both sailboat photos. B&W and colorful. It is hard for me to choose one of them.

Thank you. I lean a little more towards the B&W version but the color and original pictures are nice too.

With pleasure. I suspected you like more the B&W.

Oh, the sea is calling you! :)

I would love to take the ferry to Alaska, but, I honestly think it would be cheaper to cruise there! Ferry's really have gone up in price. The one from Connecticut to Long Island which is only a few miles is $17.00 one way. I realize maintenance, fuel, and salaries play a huge part, so I do my part to smile as I hand over the money.

What a huge storm! I am afraid to go look at some of the damage some days after a storm kicks up. Mother Nature can have a temper! I like your hot pink discs and yes, lime green is another color I like for visibility. I like the idea of a tracker on it.

Hope your New Year is going well!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Yes, ferry prices are very expensive. There was some talk about switching to electric motors for cost savings. I'm not sure of details, I didn't fully read the article. There are some areas around here where ferry rides really cut down on the number of miles you have to drive and could save a bunch of fuel over everyone driving separately.

It seems like a tracker could be used on a variety of things if designed right. Perhaps some type of solar powered chip made into flexible tape that you stuck on things that you might leave in not so obvious places. Maybe even your car, for some of us... LOL. Probably the range would be limited though unless you had some pretty good power source driving the signal - hardware is not my area of expertise though.

I can't even begin to tell you how many times I have lost my car. If a sea of silver, my car does not stick out like a sore thumb. Next time I think I will get pumpkin orange like the @@@old-guy-photos. I am pretty sure he probably does not have trouble finding his.

It's true that it does save a lot of time and gas money taking the ferry back home. The tolls alone cover the price of the ferry. I exaggerated a little bit however the tolls have have gone up so much, I'm wondering if it is really taking more than 50 years to pay for these roads. Anyway, it's always good to see you posting and I hope that all is going well with you in your world.

Yeah but ya gotta have the hat to match @dswigle LOL
14 - 1.jpg

Hehe! Ah, touche!! @old-guy-photos!

I would also like to ride a boat to somewhere but I bet I will get nauseous with the constant rocking of the boat or ship @lightsplasher

Thunderstorms really could produce strong winds but uprooting trees like that seems so harsh for a thunderstorm.

I hope that those cedar trees would survive though and I think the weed killer might have to do with its misery LOL.

It is brilliant too that there is an available biodegradable golf discs with chips! In that way you can track a lost golf disc when it goes lost, it is really a cool idea. :)

Thank you. I have felt nauseous on a boat before but only once when I was on a smaller one below deck. If you can get up on the deck and see the horizon it can help. Once your feeling sick it is hard though. I've been on a few boats in a gale force wind and I was once on a cruse ship in Alaska that got blown around a lot. Lucky for me it was at night and I slept through most of it and it calmed down the next day.

My white knuckle sailing days are over though.

Hello my dear, I really like black. And white

This boat looks very good and is still intact
Did you ride this boat?


The scenery is also very beautiful with wavy leaves Looks very strong wind there yes ..

Thank you dear friend. I did not ride on this sailboat but I have sailed on boats around this size before. I used to own a smaller 18 foot sailboat at one time. They are a lot of fun.

Usually the wind is not that strong and more gentle rain comes down pretty constantly throughout the year but things appear to be changing a bit.

Oh yes @Lightsplasher, interesting photos and this ferry has very massive constructions!

These are all pictures look amazing and unique. Good job @lightsplasher,

🎁 Hi @lightsplasher! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: First Beautiful Sunday, Sublimely So! 2019 Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Your black and white photo really looks amazing and unique due to its distinct appearance and the disc golf course photo also looks nice and beautiful @lightsplasher

beautiful scenery friend.
amazing photography @lightsplasher

Hi @lightsplasher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.460 which ranks you at #2055 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 191 contributions, your post is ranked at #67.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server