Spreadsheets for Blogging: Introducing the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form for Buzzes (and Tweets)

in LeoFinance2 years ago


Spreadsheets for Blogging: Introducing the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form for Buzzes (and Tweets)

D.Buzz is Hive's version* of Twitter. Posts on D.Buzz are called buzzes. Both apps impose a character limit on posts; D.Buzz allows 280 characters in the body. At the moment, I'm locked out of D.Buzz, so I have no idea how long my buzzes are when I use #Ecency. So I made a quick-and-dirty spreadsheet to count characters typed. Introducing the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form for buzzes (and tweets).



* = For now it remains D.Buzz. Later in 2022 #ProjectBLANK will launch, and that will be take microblogging on Hive to another level.

Cover Image made using HTML and CSS. Light edits made using MS Paint. Additional images made using Excel 2003, with edits made using MS Paint.



The D.Buzz Character Count Post Form being used

Click the image for a full-size view

Introducing the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form

The D.Buzz Character Count Post Form is a simple stand-alone spreadsheet used for preparing buzzes for Hive's microblogging dApp D.Buzz. The spreadsheet has no connection at all to blockchain; it's just an example of how a spreadsheet can be used for blogging (in this case, microblogging).

Recently D.Buzz made character count for the buzz title separate from character count for the body of the buzz, so this form reflects that organization.

Features and Benefits of the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form

Both title and body areas of this form have the following features and benefits:

Built-in Character Count Formulas

The spredsheet counts the characters typed in either the title field or the body field. This means the buzzer or microblogger is free to compose the buzz and adjust the content as needed later.

Variable Limits for Title and Body

There was a time when D.Buzz posts has a 140-character limit. At some point, D.Buzz doubled the character limit to 280. For a long time the character limit for the buzz included the title. Recently the title acquired its own limit of 60 characters. For these reasons, the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form provides fields to enter the maximum numbers of characters for title and body. This means that if the dApp changes these settings again, people using this form can update the maximum values.

Dynamic Status Line for Character Counts

The status line changes color depending on the length of the title or body:

  • Normal colors for a short title or body;
  • Cautious red text when remaining character count reaches 5 for title or 10 for body;
  • Loud yellow text on red background when title or post has extra characters.

Under normal circumstances, the visual cues should be enough to guide the buzzer during the composition of the buzz.

These dynamic staus lines calculate the number of characters remaining we don't have to. This means that we can focus on composing the buzz until its time to post, then we can adjust as needed to satisfy character limits.

What Made the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form Possible?

The following spreadsheet features made the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form possible:

  • Named Ranges;
  • Merged cells;
  • Simple math;
  • The LEN() function on the spreadsheet;
  • Formula concatenating featuring IF() functions for the dynamic status lines;
  • The AND() function within Conditional Formatting settings for the dynamic status lines;

A future post will explain these features in greater detail. I mentioned them here to give an idea how Excel (or the spreadsheet program of your choice) can be used to simulate the basic data entry features of microblogging platforms such as D.Buzz and the upcoming #ProjectBLANK.

Just My Two Sats

Thanks to general front-ends such as #Ecency, it's possible to type buzzes for viewing in the D.Buzz dApp. Unfortunately, Ecency doesn't show a character count, so it's easy to go overboard while typing buzzes. Since I'm locked out of D.Buzz, I needed a tool to track my progress as I composed content for use in a buzz. So I made a quick-and-dirty spreadsheet I call the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form.

This form does the essentials: count characters typed, show characters remaining, and provide dynamic status lines to show if the buzzes stayed within character limits.

Behind the scenes are not only simple formulas and functions but also named ranges and Conditional Formatting. This aspect of the D.Buzz Character Count Post Form will be covered in a future post.


Thank You for Reading.  Keyboard Warriors Wanted.

● If you liked this post, please give it an upvote.

● If you liked this post but it's past the 7-day payout window, please tip using PIZZA, BEER, or the engagement token of your choice (or just send something from your account to mine).

● Please reblog or re-Hive this post if you found it useful.

● If there are corrections or clarifications I need to make concerning post content, let me know in a comment so I can update the post and give you credit for the correction.

● As I am neither a certified professional accountant nor a licensed broker, posts concerning cryptocurrency, commodities, securities, and money are presented for informational purposes only; DYOR.
~~~~~ Public Service Announcements ~~~~~
● If you're new to cryptocurrency and want to know what people think, feel free to drop by the Daily Crypto Markets Live Blog at LeoFinance. It's a free-wheeling text conversation comment thread that takes place in (more or less) real-time.

● Although I've learned a lot about Hive and its ecosystem of dApps, there's much more I don't know. Where can Hivers new and old learn more? Visit TheTerminal for FAQs, tips, references, and terrific how-to content.

● Did you know that there are 156 dApps built by Hive community members, and more to come? Discover them at Hive Projects.

● If your voting power is beneath dusting threshold, follow and use @dustsweeper and @dustbunny to boost your voting power. Authors you upvote will be glad you did, and you'll be happy to start claiming curation rewards.
~~~~~ About @magnacarta ~~~~~
Sometimes I discover posts way after the initial earnings period. It's too late for me to upvote posts then, so to make up for the lost upvote I send a slice of PIZZA instead.

My main focus is cryptocurrencies from a number of angles (educational, commentary, observations, even pop culture). A secondary focus is sharing my discoveries about the world of Hive Social.

Most of my posts can be found at these two locations:
LeoFinance : https://leofinance.io/@magnacarta
Proof of Brain : https://proofofbrain.blog/@magnacarta

Follow me at this D.Buzz-only account :
D.Buzz : https://blog.d.buzz/#/@magnacarta.buzz-- note the ".buzz" at the end!

If you follow me at @magnacarta.buzz, please follow me at this account as well

I expect 2022 to be the year I go from being crazy or weird to being eccentric. If that doesn't happen, then Festivus will last longer than I can stand.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Interesting tool. It can be helpful to those on D.Buzz.

Why are you locked out, by the way?

!PIZZA

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I made this for making buzzes before posting them. It also comes in handy if you need something with some other character limit; just change the 60 or 280 to some other MAX value.

Why are you locked out, by the way?

I don't know! One day I went to mark as read my notifications, and nothing happened. After a few times I decided to make a buzz, and I received an error message about insufficient resource credits. I cleared out web cache repeatedly and periodically.

I had been busy that day, so I tried it again the next day. I still received the error. I knew this was wrong since my RCs were good enough. So I logged out to log in again. That's when I discovered I was not allowed to login. I'm not sure what happened, but it could be key related; I just don't know how.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Damn, that's odd! Do they have a Discord server or something like that so you can get in touch?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

D.Buzz has off-chain communications using both Discord and Element.

Since I can post to the D.Buzz community fine using Ecency, it's possible that the problem could be related to dApp authorizations; Terrive gave me trouble like that when I discovered it a few months ago

[...moment of silence for Terrive...]

D.Buzz also updates periodically, so maybe I need to refresh or uninstall to reinstall. I accepted the update, though, so I'm not sure what's happening.

When I have time, I'll check out those items. Since I can post for #hive-193084 using any other front-end, it's not much of a concern for me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ah I see

At least you're not missing out on your posting then!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tokenizedsociety(5/5) tipped @magnacarta (x1)

Join us in Discord!