Will Gold & Bitcoin Ever be the Same Price Again?

in dPoll4 years ago

Will Gold & Bitcoin Ever be the Same Price Again?


Gold has recently been evaluated over $1800 per oz, an impressive 10 year high.

The last time Gold and Bitcoin were elvaluated at the same price in US Dollars was April 26, 2017 when the markets closed the evaluation was 1XBT:1.00705XAU. The price has never returned even close to this rate since this time. Not even under 1.5 XAU per BTC for more than 1 day, typically trading over 5 ounce of gold per bitcoin.

Gold and Bitcoin neck to neck debate has been going on for years now.

Will Gold & Bitcoin ever be worth trading 1:1 again?


  • Yes

  • No

  • Speculation (Must Comment)

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • No

think you must rather compare market caps
gold is still leading there

https://howmuch.net/articles/worlds-money-in-perspective-2018

Voted for

  • Speculation (Must Comment)

Sorry, I don't know what to answer because I am both not interested and not knowledgeable in investments (in gold and cryptocurrency). I use cryptocurrency only to pay something online.

Thanks for participating!

The question makes no sense. How can you compare a physical object which has a value per weight unit, like gold with a virtual object, where the value per unit is completely arbitrary. Who said that one ounce of gold is the right amount to compare with one Bitcoin? Now what if I say the correct amount is of course one kilogram gold?
Then gold has a "higher price"!
The relevant question is which of both will increase in value versus fiat money. I think both will, but of course Bitcoin has even more potential than gold.

I guess me and the forex traders who gave me this idea must be completely crazy along with www.xe.com ?

I mean, comparing 2 stores of value that hedge well against the dollar, I must have lost my own tree to gather insight into something this crazy.

Everytime I have heard gold trading referenced in my life the price was evaluated in Troy ounces to USD. Bitcoin in this question the very unique exception is what I am interested in, it's rare 2 anti dollar hedges are doing so well.

www.fiatleak.com is a entertaining site

Voted for

  • No

I agree. Is it against the rules to participate in your own poll?

Definitely not! Go for it

Congratulations @phusionphil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 70000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 71000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Voted for

  • No

No.
But I expect that the market cap of gold and BTC will be the same in a few years.
Currently:
Gold: 7'000 billion USD
BTC: 173 billion USD

Voted for

  • Yes