My Hive stats for last month: not bad at all!

in LeoFinance4 years ago (edited)

A quick review of my Hive earnings for last month shows some good earnings and corresponding account growth - I've been averaging around the $12 a day mark for the last month, which isn't bad for a hobby!

And I'm up 3000 HP on the month.

Hive rewards.JPG

It would have been more HP growth, but I've diversified into Hive games, namely @splinterlands and @Exodgame - seems to be where the growth is.

Breakdown by platform


Hive earnings.JPG

Hive is by far my biggest earner with $318 in total earnings, with almost a two-thirds split in favour of author rewards!

Leo is my second largest earner - with $24 in total earnings - $11 for author returns and more for curation, sort of how I thought it might go as I blog less about financial stuff, only occasionally. NB note the 36% return on the curation - and that's pre-optimization!

Splinterlands is a bit of a guestimate - I probably earn about 300 DEC a day in battles and then combined with my daily quest and season rewards, that's around $11 a month, probably a bit more, plus any increase in value on the cards, which only seem to be increasing in value!

I may only earn about $2 a month from @tipu curation, but it's quite fun, a bit of manual bot-calling once or twice a day is hardly taxing!

I earn a bit more through other tribe-tokens, such as PAL, but such small amounts it's hardly worth tracking!

All in all, I'm quite happy with this in dollar earnings for such a low value of Hive, and I'm quite happy with the diversification

Plans for next month


I'm in something a writing flow ATM, so I might aim for a few double-post days, especially upping my financial type content for LEO, I'm in the mood, it's a good thing for me to be thinking about ATM, and I'm also planning a gradual buy-in of LEO from July, once the Steem PD releases a bit of upward pressure on the price. Seemed sensible to hold off on Leo for the most part in June and spunk all my money on eXode and buy hundreds of thousand of DEC instead. The cheap eXode deals are now closed and DECs cheap ATM IMO!

I have been accumulating LEO - but via delegation - I think I've got about 3-4K Hive delegated. I'll probably increase that too!

I noticed @spinvest are selling off a few final tokens, I might just buy some of those too with my final Steem PD coming up.

If I can keep this earning up and Hive goes over $1, and everything else rises in sync, $350*4 - I'm looking at a very comfortable living wage for me, for just dicking about on the chain!

If Hive stays at $0.25 it's a nice way of saving money for the future.

If Hive crashes to $0.001, I'll get my coat, assuming I haven't sold it for food.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

That's a very nice little habit :)
And, theoretically at least, it's a portable form of earning which you can sustain when you are moving around (I know that's easy to say than do)!
The final release of SPI tokens are being auctioned - 5 sets of 20 - everyday for next three weeks or so. The auction post is from the @spinvest account. CAn't remember whether the deadline each day is 9 or 10pm BST, but it will have it on the post. You'll still be able to buy SPI on hive-engine, sometimes there's quite a brisk trade :)

It really doesn't take that long to earn that money either, obviously the curation only takes a tiny amount of time.

It's 21.00 deadline, I almost bought some the other day, then spent 300 Hive on DEC instead, I'll probably get some next week! Just a little bit.

TBH I think I'm already invested in most of what SPI invests in anyway - they've got a lot in Leo you know, and I'm targeting that anyway.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Why has your username changed?

I use @revise.leo to vote on leofinance - all my LEO is delegated or staked this account. I tend to use this to comment on leofinance too.

If you check this comment on leofinance you'll find you've got some leo for it.

Posted Using LeoFinance

I see. Leofinance is extremely popular!

It's got a lot going for it - great synergy between the content - investment and blockchain, a 90% Vest rate of tokens, a solid token-burn policy, the whales seem very engaged, and a curation return rate double that of Hive.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Perfect. And all I have to do is start posting in the LEO community?

Things are looking good. Let's hope Hive will go to 1$ soon. :D

That's the point it would get tempting to cash out some of those HBDs!

Posted Using LeoFinance

Great and motivational post :)))

Posted Using LeoFinance

Nice report, we all should keep track of our earnings and review them monthly.
Thanks for sharing.

Posted Using LeoFinance

You should start posting these things on twitter :)

I could do that, but I'm one of the in-crowd so these earnings aren't representative, and 'it's not all about the money'!

Also I don't really want to publicize my earnings too widely outside of Hive - I don't want to attract the attention of the tax authorities. Not that I won't pay tax if I ever cash out, but that sort of attention is very much not wanted!

(Ironically the fact that I post this stuff at all is a sign of how confident I am in the fundamental invisibility of Hive posts!)

Yea got you!

(Ironically the fact that I post this stuff at all is a sign of how confident I am in the fundamental invisibility of Hive posts!)

Not sure what to think about this :)

Anyway cheers!

!BEER


Hey @revisesociology, here is a little bit of BEER from @dalz for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

All the smart people here are anonymous unless they manage to calculate their taxable income correctly and actually report it. And taxes aren't the only reason it pays to be anomymous here. One such good reason is criminals who may target someone who is loaded with tokens. I think the largest investors whose names are out there in public all the time actually do that. As for the rest, I don't think so for the most part. Of course, the popular front ends keep IP logs and ISPs are required to keep IP logs by law in many countries. But having an ISP dig up who was behind an IP address used at a given moment requires a court order and I don't think this place is at risk of being turned upside down by all the authorities in the world like that any time soon.

I think this place and my account are way too small fry for anyone to bother targeting TBH!

Come to think of it have I ever earned any actual 'money' on Hive? They're just widget-tokens aren't they?

I think this place and my account are way too small fry for anyone to bother targeting TBH!

For now. After a repeat of early 2018, your account could be worth over $500,000. It only takes Bitcoin topping out at $300k and an alt season taking HIVE to $10 to $15 after that.

Come to think of it have I ever earned any actual 'money' on Hive? They're just widget-tokens aren't they?

I don't know the details of UK tax law.

Yes - ideally I wouldn't be writing about such things

TBH I doubt it'd be my posts on earnings that would attract non-desirables - it'd by my big fat wallet page more generally, same for everyone else!

At least with Hive my master password and owner key are in cold storage on an encrypted USB so that's a layer of security!

On the UK tax law there's nothing specific on my return that asks me about crypto - and I don't actually 'earn' in fiat, so I think I'm safe!

I cannot comment on UK tax law but in general taxable earned income does not need to be fiat. You could earn anything worth money and that would be taxable income. But if your employer, say, recited poems to you in exchange for your work, that would not be taxable because such an activity cannot be traded for anything else.

It could be argued that Hive is an MMOG. Some countries only tax in-game assets earned on MMOGs when they're cashed out. I don't know about the UK. There are other complexities like how to tax Hive Power earned as rewards. HP is controlled by a smart contract that does not allow it to be cashed out except with a considerable delay. If you asked, you'd be hard pressed to find anyone at HMRC who could give you any definitive answers. I think if you just pay taxes on what you cash out into fiat, other cryptocurrencies or goods or services, you'll be fine. Owing to the complexity and novelty of Hive, that is the only just and fair model of taxation of Hive income. Additionally, your tax authorities would most likely be completely unable to determine the exact amount you owe even if they managed to come up with a theory on how your taxable income should be calculated. For that reason, I don't think publishing detailed reports on your earnings is a good idea.

That's a nice extra income even if you don't plan to spend it for now. I'm pretty happy with how I'm doing. Things are a bit hit or miss depending on which big accounts decide to support you. I have sold all my Steem now, but that helped boost my HP nicely. On target for orca this year. I can't justify spending more fiat on crypto for now, but I'll go with the flow.

Orca will be nice. I just upgraded to Dolphin. Been thinking of gong all-in. Haha.

Well congrats on Dolphin!

Buying more Steem/ Hive has so far worked really well for me - a gradual buy-in over years is the way I did it. Although with the Steem PD I've gone the other way - diversified into more BTC and LTC, the later not working out particularly well I must say.

You simply can't earn the return you get on here!

I am planning on buying in more, but I'm expecting the price to go down so I'm not going to make a massive one off purchase.

I'm very much into just buying a couple of hundred now and then, but that's just me.

I'm most comfortable looking at it as a savings income for now, given that I'd have to PowerDown to realise the non HBD bit of the earnings.

I seem to be getting some decent support from larger accounts, that of course could dry up at any point!

Orca would be a great achievement! Great use of all that Steem.

That's great news. It gives me a reasonable approximation of what can be expected from continuing to invest in Hive. It is only recently that the light bulb turned on that I should be contributing to my account regularly.

I seem to do a better job of curating than writing.

Yes you just have to hussle (comment) and keep plugging away, curation returns are one the best features of Hive!

Author earnings might be very hard to come by if a rising Hive price significantly increased the number of accounts competing for them, but curation earnings would rise in tandem with the token’s price. Having a significant stake of HP could yield an excellent cash flow from curation alone once Hive’s price starts climbing above a buck.

And your curation efficiency numbers are impressive.

Part of my says 'just buy another 50K Hive' because of those curation figures!

I'm just a bit too cautious, and besides I'm earning in gradually, as we all are!

It won't be long until my curation returns outweigh my author returns - that seems to be the point when a lot of people stop posting.

However I enjoy writing so I doubt I will.

2.5 minutes seems to be an optimum!

Glad to see this. Looks def good for a hobby. Interesting you have it on Spreadsheet. What is your overall goal? Curious.

I'm not really sure what my end-goal is - 50K Hive before I start cashing out some of those HBDs for sure, probably the same for LEO.

I've yet to decide when I start taking a profit form Splinterlands. If it ever gets to the point where the cards are worth, I dunno, a third of the remaining value of my mortgage, it'd be nuts just to not sell the lot, wouldn't it?

If the later ever happens it'll be because of a crazy pump to crypto in general I think rather than a reflection of their value.

Those are some very solid numbers. You've gotten into a good position for if we ever do see $10 hive and you will have a nice wage coming in every month.

At that stage you won't need to sell and of the principle but could live of your weekly earnings. That would be a great position to be in.

$10 Hive would just be insane!

It's not that far fetched at all. The price is determined by supply and demand. If we have 10x more users fighting for every bit of hive on the markets to power up there would be a lot higher selling point. That would bring in more users and keep pushing up the price. A couple of popular games or investors buying up a large amount or like i wrote a post about yesterday, using ad revenue to buy and burn hive to keep some buying pressure every month.

It all comes down to more users and with a million active accounts we wouldn't be sitting on 25c.

That's the dream.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 62000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 63000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP