Snow in Virginia finally happened

in #winter5 months ago

A week or so ago I wrote a post about how little snow we have got around here. Well it seems my I jinxed myself, and we got a few inches of snow that stuck around for the better part of a week. It was so fluffy and lots of fun to play with. I took the dog out for a run in the snow and she loved it.. Doing her helicopter dog thing as we ran through it. Good to see her still having fun at her old age.

Solo selfie

I enjoyed running around in it as well, its such a novelty to me. Where I have lived throughout my life we have had little to no snow. So when we get it I try to go outside and enjoy it.

The view outside was so nice, with all that fluffy snow filling every inch of ground around me.

We ran out of small wood during the snow storm, so we had to go collect some smaller pieces. We bundled up and got it all over in a short amount of time. Due to how cold it was getting we are flying through the firewood.

The UTV does great in the snow, did not even need to use 4 wheel drive mostly. Unless we were going uphill, then it got a little slippery lol.

When the sun came out it got rid of the snow on the southern facing slopes. We can see how little there is on this hill of mine.

Looking in the other direction to the north just about everything down in the wood line was still snow covered days later.

We use the sawzall to collect the small stuff.

Some how collecting firewood in the snow was fun, maybe I would get bored of it after doing it a few times. But my Mucker boots kept my feet dry and the just about right amount of clothes kept me protected.

Hopefully we will get more snow this year, as this is the time it usually happens from my limited experience with it.

My post talking about how little it has snowed here:

https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@solominer/waiting-for-snow-a-5-minute-free-write

Sort:  

Haha, yeah... you jinxed yourself. And right here, you have the snow you craved for. Haha

Hah I sure did... but it was fun, this time.

That's great!

That is pretty awesome. Most of our snow is gone already. I hope we get at least one more big snow storm this year. Your property looks pretty amazing! I want to get a side by side one day, but I don't have anywhere to drive it unless I take it to the public trails.

It sure was pretty cool. Well around here in the South most of the snow tends to show up around this time of year. So I expect to get more as well before the season is over.. Up until around late April its always a chance.

Thank you, I love my property its quite the piece of land. I used to go to wild life management areas (WMAs) and state parks before I bought my own land, and now I just stick around here.

I can understand why!

Yhh it looks like you had not so much snow there. In my region in this season snow came to us at the beginning of November. And after last snowfall I spent a lot of time while cleaning my greenhouse from snow coz it almost all was covered. But kids are glad that they can make snownan and play in snowballs)))

Wave Media

Oh man that is a lot of snow! I worry about that much snow collapsing stuff so I gotcha digging it out.

Well glad your kids had fun in it.

It's good to know that the fog is there and you enjoyed beautiful walks.
The popular saying goes, “be careful what you wish for” and it certainly came true, there was even a lack of firewood to keep the environment warm, luckily you have the wood and the means to go and collect it. That's a big relief

What a beautiful landscape, I love seeing everything snowy

Enjoy it very much dear friend @solominer

Thanks I had a lot of fun in it.. and so true.. careful what I wish for.. lol

Im glad you guys got some snow. This winter has been very weird compared to last year. We had so much snow and it was so cold last year. This year, we have gotten snow a couple times and now the weather is warm. I went on a walk yesterday in shorts and a t-shirt and the weather felt great. I am scared this summer is going to be dry and hot.

Thanks man, I feel ya.. year to year it can change quite a bit. Well enjoy walking around in shorts and a t-shirt while is lasts.. doubt winter is over just yet.

Damn I hope not, well I am working on a irrigation project right now. So hopefully if it ends up being hot and dry at least I will have water for the plants.

Snow fall made the weather nice, and you seem to enjoy it..

Yeah I love how quiet it makes everything, and how the animal tracks show up everywhere they go.

You're so cool and handsome...you must be wearing a thick jacket because the temperature is so cold...😃👍👍🤝🤝

haha thanks man, since I was collecting firewood I dressed a little more light than I would be just standing around.. Dont want to sweat and then have it freeze..

Hehehe... if we had a place to live close by, this would be very neat and I always want to help you with activities.Because every time I see the activities you do, they are the same as my activities here. But my activities here are still manual, such as transporting wood using a small train instead of using a car. And I think activities like that are very fun activities.Always stay enthusiastic, friend. 👍👍🤝🤝

Yay, you must be happy to finally have the fluffy white show up. We just got another rounds ourselves after a rainy week. Have fun!

Hah yeah I love that fluffy snow.. Made a few snow balls with it.

Oh man, well half the time they call for snow here and we just get freezing rain. Its the worst.

I am happy for you, I hope you still enjoy it by the end of winter.

We shall see, indeed its a treat now but if its constant I can see how that could be quite annoying.

thanks!

helicopter dog thing

Sounds weird, but I know exactly what you meant... 😂

untitled.gif

I like snow, but I don't like cold and the day when it starts to melt... 😃

Snow is fun at first, but sure gets old fast if it comes in too often!

I feel ya, well hopefully it wont snow so much here I start disliking it.

It looks like you got a taste of "be careful what you wish for" scenario with the snow. Congratulations. Your dog's "helicopter dog thing" sounds like it was a funny sight. I am glad to hear she's still enjoying the snow in her old age.

Cheers to more snow and hopefully no more unexpected jinxing. Stay warm and keep the updates coming.

So true, well I got what I asked for haha.

Will do :-)

That is amazing that you are enjoying the snow! I, for one, don't enjoy the freezing (25 degrees only) cold here in California! But it is letting up some! Hehehe!
!BBH

@solominer! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (4/20)

It sure is, quite the treat. Hehe well hope it warms up for you soon.

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 110000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 112000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

Hello, good firewood collection in the middle of the snow that the dog also enjoyed, have a good day.👍👍👍

Hello solominer!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 5th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by nuthman

You receive 🎖 1.7 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 193 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START