Sunday run: Better late than never

in #running6 years ago

As I lay in bed this morning I could hear the rain lashing down and was not tempted to go out running although I knew I needed to. On my last running post @toofasteddie suggested I needed an 11km slow run to get in shape for my race next month. He also suggested a mid-week run with 1km reps under five minutes, but I can't run that fast. Anyway, I checked the weather and it looked better for the afternoon.

I had a fairly lazy morning and then did a bit of gardening after lunch. There are bushes and hedges to be trimmed and the chickens needed cleaning out. After that I set off on my run. It was fairly sunny by then, but windy at times.

I took it fairly steadily and was actually pretty much spot on for 6min/km. 10km clocked up and 1 hour and 1 second! The max speed is never right in Endomondo, which is annoying.

Run

I was happy enough to keep up a steady pace. For parkrun yesterday I was giving it everything, but this was just to get some miles into my legs. I think I was feeling it a bit after a pretty active weekend for me. I'll take it easy in the days before the race.

I saw a few other runners out of various speeds. Also saw a couple I know who both do triathlons. They were cycling with their young girls. There's an older guy I keep seeing. He just seems to walk between Arlesey and Fairfield. I saw him twice yesterday and again today. I assume he just walks for exercise as he never has a bag or even a jacket and he is always striding along with a slightly lop-sided walk. Good for him. Various dog walkers out too of course. It's good to see people getting out and enjoying the walks around here. I know the area a lot better since I started running.

Did anyone read about runners in the Lithuanian marathon being able to earn a cryptocurrency called Lympo? Seems there are a few coins aimed at active people. We have @actifit on Steem who will have their own SMT, but it's too much extra effort for me to post through their app and then add all this extra stuff.

Hope all you runners had a good weekend. If you are already part of it then check out the #RunningProject community.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

"he is always striding along with a slightly lop-sided walk"

Everywhere I look these days, I see people with lop-sided walks. They are so brave, shuffling along regardless. I'm sure we'll all be there some day. Maybe your running will protect you from getting like that. I hope I can be as brave as they are, if and when I get like that.

Well done that was a good run xx

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Dude!
very well done this run!
Don't underestimate yourself!
Let's do the following: 6 repetitions at 5'/km ;-)

I'll see how it goes. I usually manage about a 40 minute run on a Wednesday lunchtime. That would be about my top speed. I'll do what I can.

great run my friend @steevc and 1km under 5mins is even hard for me lol keep it up bro

Good job! I was too lazy this weekend... so this week I have to do doble of work!!!