Go get self-promoted and earn on me

in LeoFinance4 years ago

I heard indirectly the other day someone say that I don't do enough to promote my posts, just push them out to Twitter. This is true, that is all I do, but considering I barely comment on Twitter and have posted less than 50 times in the last 28 days, plus I have less than 500 followers. But still, I have around 25,000 impressions - not great perhaps, but not too bad either considering they are top level posts and aren't comments on popular content and drama. I also seem to have been shadow banned a few months ago for Steem content, where my posts were getting between 2-5K views each, and then dropped off a cliff overnight - even though now I am getting two to three times the engagement through retweets and likes - I am also getting more click-throughs than I did earlier. But, who knows if Twitter is a valuable resource for Hive to leverage.

What I wonder though is the "not doing enough to promote my posts" bit, and I would like to know what that actually means and if there is anyone who is doing something different. Should I buy billboard space on the highway? Take out a classifieds advert in the back of the local newspaper? Buy votes so I am up at the top of Trending? Oh yeah, that last one only works if you are wanting attention on the platform...

As I see it, the power of social media is the ability for the consuming audience to propel content forward, not the contributor themselves. The contributor does have to find channels at some point, but at the end of the day - the reach of one person is limited, especially when that person also is the one spending their time creating content and likely also working to pay the bills. Plus, sharing this kind of content on other platform like Medium, means that they will read it there, instead of here - defeating the purpose.

The cost of self-promotion is very high as it takes time away from creative and generative tasks and in the case of Hive, doesn't likely bring any direct benefits - even though there might be slight benefits for the platform overall. But, the cost of sharing is very, very low - especially off platform like on Twitter, where a stream of retweets isn't frowned upon in the same way it may be on Hive. Low cost sharing is the driver of social media and it is this that makes something go "viral" online. If there was a cost to share, how many people would pay to share another's work?

It is important to get more external eyes on Hive content for many reasons, including for search Engine rankings and usage statistics, so perhaps what I should do is pay people to share my work outside of the Hive network and aid distribution also. I am not sure if this is a good or bad idea yet.

Get Paid to share my posts

If I give something like a 3% vote (currently 6 cents - curation) for every proven share on Twitter, Reddit or Facebook, perhaps the small incentive will be enough to drive some people to share. If I then double to a 6 - 10% vote ( up to 20 cents - curation) for those who also leave a thoughtful comment about the post, I wonder if it will also drive some engagement.

What do you think?

I wouldn't mind people sharing the work of mine they enjoy out to the masses, but perhaps this will also aid in the distribution and aid in getting more eyes on Hive content. I have been doing the #PoSh (Proof of Share) life since November last year and it does seem to be getting impressions at least on Twitter - So I may as well extend that further - plus, with @blocktrades, @theycallmedan, @threespeak and @ocdb driving it externally with the Engage and Help Hive Thrive initiative (read the rules), delivered by @anomadsoul, perhaps those people who get rewarded for engaging and sharing my posts, will also get some love from the initiative from time to time.

Now, I post about twice a day generally, and normally reward most of the comments I get, so this means that if I get an additional 10 share comments on each, it would take between 1 and 2 extra full votes a day to support this. I can live with that, as previously I used to spend about 50 - 60% of my voting power on comments, prior to the EIP introduction and price, which made it too expensive to get over the dust threshold.

This is an experiment of course and might fail spectacularly or, I might have to change the percentages, but if the goal is to get eyes on from external sources, there is little more I can do at this point, unless someone has a better idea. Again, there is huge value in sharing content on and off the platform for Hive, content creators and all those hodlers wanting their token value to increase - so, I guess I should try and get my work out there and "self-promote".

This way, I don't have to start self-voting, I don't have to buy votes and, it definitely has the potential to aid distribution of Hive to a wider selection of accounts as I would assume, that the larger accounts won't be interested in doing this or, they will do it without the reward anyway.

For those that haven't noticed, there are internal share links available:

Peakd:

image.png
image.png

Hive.blog

image.png

I am no whale, but getting paid a little for doing what one might be doing anyway might be a good way to earn a little extra while also adding value to Hive on what one earns by potentially bringing new eyes onto Hive through link clicks. While not all of my posts might be suitable to share out to Twitter, perhaps some of them that you might enjoy, others you know might enjoy also.

The value of social media is the ability to leverage social networks and advertisers pay for the clicks through to their content from adverts, so since it has been mentioned that I should be promoting my content further afield, this seems a much healthier advertising model than promotion on the platform that puts Hive in the pockets of those who already have a lot, plus, it will hopefully add some more engagement and solid transactions and for those who I get to know, perhaps new relationships and new friendships will form.

Perhaps this is what should happen more on the platform for the accounts like myself that have decent content that may be worth a share from time to time. Perhaps some of the curation initiatives can spend time curating the comments of good posts and authors, rather than just the author themselves - incentivize the sharing outside of the network of great contributions.

What do you think, worth the experiment?

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

I like the idea 🙂

Shared on Twitter

Let's see how it goes :)

Shared to my facebook wall then shared to My Facebook page with over 26k++ Followers. Hope to get more engagements 😁

https://www.facebook.com/PiyomaruPH

ounrlx.jpg

ppmdue.jpg

Cheers. I wonder if it will ever make a difference.

If I can confirm that there will be no facebook violations on posting links likes of peakd or hive. I will try to post it to pages I am handling with over 500k++ followers.

I have no idea, but posting my normal articles aren't promoting Hive, they are promoting the article itself.

Yep I get it. Sometimes Facebook dont allow crypto related links 😁

Loading...

I'm not sure what anyone meant by that comment, but I do feel people think we're focussing too much inwards. If we could become more visible - as people and a community and crypto project - 'outside' we might attract new people. So I believe it's not really about pushing our posts on outside social media, but about gaining a following outside of Hive and outside the Hive community and THEN it makes a difference if we share our posts.

Currently I'm afraid most of us share posts on Twitter but mostly to our 'own people' - most of us are no influencers :')

It can't rrslly work that way for most content as building a following on twitter is a different animal than creating for HIVE. I see plenty of people with decent twitter followings getting less engagement on their tweets than my content does.

Perhaps if I made a sex tape...

building a following on twitter is a different animal than creating for HIVE

It definitely is. It's a complicated game and I haven't found the perfect recipe yet.

Perhaps if I made a sex tape...

Please do that. I'll retweet it to my 184 followers \0/

Please do that. I'll retweet it to my 184 followers \0/

Boom!

Oh, and becoming an influencer on Hive shouldn't really require having to be an influencer on other platforms first, should it? Perhaps I should follow Jerry's example ;D

Well, indeed, Jerry is the exact example of what I meant: he was 'famous' already and I still encounter people who re-introduce themselves on Hive writing about how they onboarded on Steem because they were following him and he told them about Steem :D

Very few of those who came through him made it past him though - the survivors are rare.

This is one approach for sure but I think if the tweet was topical, tagged right, and catchy enough, it could gain some momentum and pull some people over for a look?

But yes, I think we are sharing tweets mainly to Hive people In the main, although Taraz’s numbers are
more than our weekly top level post authors at times.

This is a valuable point you make, we are pretty much all in this same bubble, be it in other platforms too. Someone needs to get thousands of normie followers on twitter and IG and then promote their Hive content to them.

Exactly :-) We have too few of those on Twitter - for now.

My personal belief is, that it must be other people who are sharing our posts because they find the content educational or entertaining and not ourselves.

Yes, another important point. If we can make content others want to share (like Medium) we're a big step further then we currently are.

I hope eventually we will get there. The sooner the better of course :)

Hive really need these Screenshot_20200430215019.pngtypes of been engaged on social media.

Share mine to my Twitter page

This post earned a total payout of 0.072$ and 0.036$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.

Should I buy billboard space on the highway? Take out a classifieds advert in the back of the local newspaper?

LMAO.

Some people have self appointed themselves the #hive police. Just keep on doing your thing, as long as you're doing your best. Mostly those accusing are the ones doing the least.

I've been pushing hive a lot on Twitter, I'm inclined to slow down.

Meh, there are the police for all things, must of them have conflicting laws to abide by. I don't have the energy for that shit, so I will do as I do.

Not sure I have enough of a big account on twitter to make a difference...

It doesn't matter to me 😊

I think it is an experiment well worth trying. I myself do not participate in any of the other forms of social media, just hive and steem block chains. As you point out they have made it easier for people to share post to other sites.

I don't think it will get much traction, people don't seem to value small amounts much, no matter how easy it is to get.

Yeah everyone wants the big payouts, I don't understand why, I had a few post go more than 10 HP or SP but not many, most have moved from the $$0.60 range to $2.00 range since the Hive move, but I think a lot of that is because there is not a lot out here yet, I am still mostly a consumer, and it is great I can make a post every now and then on whatever to help grow my account, but it is mostly about the giving back part, the being able to let someone know you like what they do.

In the past entertainment choice was driven by the conglomerates, they gave people what they wanted to give people to entertain them, with the block chain, I have a lot more entertainment options. I dislike the actions of some of the larger accounts trying to control what is allowed to thrive and what is not, but that will always be with us.

In the past entertainment choice was driven by the conglomerates, they gave people what they wanted to give people to entertain them

They were the algorithms - the king makers, so to speak. On the other platforms it is the same now. It isn't up to individual users, it is up to the central authority who is popular.

Tweeted this post:

I think sticking to what you are doing is the only way still. Overtime you will organically grow a following and may get a break here and there. I had a post published on a Formula One site a while back but only found out much later on to take advantage of it. I may push in that direction over the next few months and see where it ends up.

I had a post published on a Formula One site a while back but only found out much later on to take advantage of it.

That is cool! I would like to see more of this where the links feedback in.

F1 Grid
@F1grid
·
Feb 14
The latest Formula 1 Daily! https://paper.li/F1grid/1310918048?edition_id=759961f0-4ecd-11ea-af91-002590a5ba2d Thanks to
@diznoboletimque

@buddendorf

@cryptoandcoffe2

Top Tweet earned 403 impressions
Maybe Scrap Formula One Car Launches — Steemit steemit.com/hive-174578/@c… #posh #oc #steem #formulaone

I have no idea as still learning twitter and possibly should have picked it up sooner than I did.

Pretty cool to get a littl erecognition :)

That is what I thought. For someone who just enjoys writing about something then it is something to possibly build on and will do more in the future. Something to target to try and build an audience with. Maybe the #posh thing can work.

I will fish them out for you as it was taken via twitter around 4 months ago or so. I was honestly shocked that they would promote my work as I am no professional.

I have no clue, but agree that building here seems different then there. I am posting on Twitter irregularly and don’t see any real change in my following here or there from it.
Good Luck

Posted Using LeoFinance

I post generally once or twice a day to twitter and answer some comments I get, but I am not sure how much external feedback I am getting through click-throughs. I know there are some from Hive users, as they comment from time to time which gate they used.

Hello, I read all the content, it is true that social networks help a lot, however I have not gone to them much to publish my content, sometimes when I see that what I publish has not received love, I wonder what will I be failing? Sometimes I would like to read that in every post I publish, but believe me, my faith can do more than what other people think and well, when I see that my work has something of a reward, I am very happy, believe me, I invite you to visit my blog on hive and You can enjoy my music and I would love to know what you think, calmly trust you, trust what God has given you in wisdom, everything comes alone, a hug from Venezuela.

Try finding communities that appreciate the kind of content you create.

I don't believe in God, so I guess I have to trust myself.

I hate promotion, self-promotion most of all XD

I tend to shoot myself in the head a lot given that I apparently absolutely should be doing a lot more self-promotion no exception >_>

But this

The cost of self-promotion is very high as it takes time away from creative and generative tasks

is 98% of my problem (I don't actually know if it's 98% of my problem I just like throwing 98% around for everything that is "most of"). Hive already takes up a ridiculous amount of time (there was a time on steem where I had to limit myself to 1hr and whatever I missed well too bad, because otherwise I wouldn't get anything done) and I'd rather upvote/comment than blather on about my crap (unless someone wants to talk to me about it in which case I'll happily blather on as long as they like).

So basically between pretending to be sociable, making stuff and getting life done self promo ain't nobody got time for dat XD

What do you think?

I think it's a nice idea to tip curators that little bit extra?

I hate promotion, self-promotion most of all XD

Me too - it is retarded.

So basically between pretending to be sociable, making stuff and getting life done self promo ain't nobody got time for dat XD

Yep - people have limited bandwidth and availability doesn't mean there is skill in that area. I have time on my hands today - I can't be a plumber or electrician - unfortunately.

Your content is excellent and one of the main reasons I am here.
You should do whatever you feel is right and makes you happy as far as your engagement on any level.
That is the beauty of decentralization and individual freedom.
That is what community is about.
You obviously know that bringing in new users will benefit everyone involved.
So go at it as you see fit.
I honestly feel that people intuitively understand the principles of decentralization, more everyday as they are confronted with false narratives and alternatives but it is in its infancy in practice and we all fall victim to programmed mentalities that are contradictory to its premise.
It's hard to overcome these ingrained habits. And the farther a person is from this space and those ideals the less they understand so they come at it from a centralized frame of mind that is in direct opposition to the new environment.
We have the opportunity to be the hub for mass adoption of decentralized society.
To give people the alternatives they are looking for.
What we are building today will be the foundation for the emerging revolution of the digital age and a real chance to fundamentally transform the paradigm in ways that we can only imagine right now.
To me, what good are 'rewards' which only have value compared to central bank fiat. Still makes you a slave.
To me, this has to be about more than that.
What is it that we are doing here?
Is it just another business/investment/income venture?
That would be a tragedy.
Thanks again for all your efforts and insights.
Really love your writing, keeps me reading when I should be doing other shit tho!
Peace

That is the beauty of decentralization and individual freedom.

For sure. This is what people don't seem to get - even ones that think they do - as they are looking for one solution, which doesn't exist.

We have the opportunity to be the hub for mass adoption of decentralized society.

Yes. but in general, people are lazy and look for entertainment - if the only entertainment is drama, they get bored and find something else to do eventually and those that stay - aren't investors.

To me, what good are 'rewards' which only have value compared to central bank fiat. Still makes you a slave.

The value is in the distributed ownership, the rewards are a way to spread that value. Well, some seem to disagree ;)

Is it just another business/investment/income venture?
That would be a tragedy.

it is an investment, but it is not only a financial one. The more owners who take responsibility for their digital experience at least, the better.

You are welcome :)

interesting concept.
getting paid to share, sure I think folks would do it.
Depending on the match of the content with the followers getting shared to, it could be beneficial.
Do it manually will be a minor chore. hope you track this.
I am interested in the outcome

Depending on the match of the content with the followers getting shared to, it could be beneficial.

Yep, not all content is suitable. I wonder if in time, paid distributors (like this) will be normal online?

I think that everyone should do what works best, at the same time, understand a little bit about everything else. You are an example of quality, for many users, for me for sure. I really like reading your articles, despite the fact that it takes much longer than reading most of the other posts (which I just look through). The fact that you maintain the quality of your blog already means a lot to raise the profile of HIVE. Although, there are always people whom something will not suit.

Думаю, что каждый должен делать то, что лучше всего получаеться, паралельно, немного разбираться во всем остальном. Вы - пример качества, для многи пользователь, для меня точно. Я очень люблю читать Ваши статьи, несмотря на то что это занимает намного больше времени, чем чтения большенства других постов (которые я просто просматриваю). То, что Вы поддерживаете качество своего блога уже многое значит для поднятия авторитета HIVE. Хотя, всегда есть люди, которых что-то будет не устраивать.

Although, there are always people whom something will not suit.

I accept this, but I also don't mind running experiments from time to time either :)

I understand you perfectly !!! Experimental experience is an order of magnitude better than any analytical one.

I just enjoy my privacy and that means I can't go looking for attention.

That is good. It is a hard road if you also want to earn though.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience