If It Ain't Broke, Don't Fix It [Seaphotography Contest - Week 84]

in Photography Lovers4 years ago (edited)

This photo was taken by the beach in the city of Vila do Conde, Portugal.

Sea and Seascapes is this week's Theme for the Seaphotography Contest - Week 84 hosted by @marc-allaria. This is my entry for the contest.

It was a perfect morning for a walk by the beach, sunny but not too hot and with a gentle breeze on the air... the sea was calm and all the people were still in bed, so the beach was almost empty at this hour.

I tried to play around with GIMP but, in the end, I thought the original photo was the best:

w3nkug.jpg

Here are the others, for comparison. This is after applying some Colour Enhance. I think it was too much. It seems over the top to me.

x91g69.jpg

Then I tried a White Balance correction... and my feeling was the shot seems kind of fake. The colours don't look natural, at all.

i00ceb.jpg

I also tried a combination of both and here is the shot after applying a White Balance correction and Colour Enhance. It looks more like a painting than with a photo, no?

od9plx.jpg

Sometimes the best thing is to leave stuff as you've found it... and I guess that's true for photos, as well. At least in this case, no edit is better than a crappy edit. 😂

I hope you enjoyed these shots! 😁


I invite you to participate in the contest, too. Please see the announcement post, here: Seaphotography Contest - Week 84.


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
LocationVila do Conde - Portugal
PhotoEdited with GIMP


Sort:  

Beautiful pictures!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @trincowski! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 90000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Hive Revolution - Call for missions

Cool shot, perfect like that no need of photo editing...

Thanks. This camera is quite good, indeed. No need to edit the photos so much now.

By the way, I'll need to edit the post. I've just realised that I included the wrong camera model on the post. This was taken with a Panasonic Lumix DC-TZ90, not with a Canon.

Looks like an amazing early morning walk on the beach capturing the scene.

Agree most times no additional work needs to be done to photography, crop, resize and upload, have a great day!

Thanks a lot for your visit and comment. 😄

Hey, buddy, at this point in the lock-in, I want to go to the beach, ha ha ha.
I've always thought photography is an art, and so is editing.
It's a beautiful beach.

Are you in a complete lockdown? We still have a bit of freedom around here.

Until yesterday there was almost a total quarantine.
Men were allowed out on odd days and women on even days.
But yesterday they activated some areas of the economy, but everything is very restricted.
I guess that will be until the health system collapses and then, quarantine again.
It's been a radical change, my friend @trinkowski

How weird... Is that week days? And who takes the remaining day? Transgender people? That rule is simply nuts. 🤦

That's very particular. The transgender community could go out depending on the gender they identify with.

Absurd things happen on this side of the world friend @trinkowski he he

I am currently in Bogotá, Colombia.

Very crazy, indeed!

Good to see you playing with the filters. I actually prefer the basic photoediting in Photoscape (free). I almost always do the auto-level tool (though sometimes it's too much and I have to turn it down) - a click of the backlight and sometimes try their color enhance. Again, sometimes it's just too much, (and there's only one setting on that tool) - but sometimes it's wonderful.

Anyway, beautiful picture in any case!

I never tried that one... and it seems there's no Linux version, so I'll stick to GIMP! 😄

Ah!
No, there's not a Linux version, but it works well with Wine.

Beautiful Sea view 👌 and the caption is impressive 😊

Thank you very much.

WOOOOOOW!

Just a normal summer day around here. 😊