Do you call/visit your parents/elderly family frequently?

in dPoll4 years ago (edited)

Do you call/visit your parents/elderly family frequently?


How we treat elderly people depends on where we live.
In the Netherlands treating them with respect is not what is done. I know, I am older and not the Dutch people at the first place show this behaviour. Migrants show no respect at all. Elderly people are scolded at, pushed aside on the street and in shops, they are scammed and easily robbed. Since we have no elderly homes they stay home. Many of them live since years in a lockdown situation.

The government created this.
There's no money left for those who once rebuild the Netherlands after the second world war. Worked after the many crisis the country had.
There's no healthcare if it comes to 70+ years old and Covid19 (better break a leg), there's no room in a nursery home (unless you are standing with one foot in your grave already), many elderly are staying in elderly homes abroad where caretakers care.

By know about 1400 elderly people died in nursery homes because the government did not care about them (note the Netherlands only have 1200 IC beds) which means caretakers worked without protection and there is plenty of room now to take in new people.

No matter if Dutch people care about their elderly or not they are not very willing to let them go to a nursery home. Especially not under these circumstances. Might be now more people will keep working from home it's easier too to take care of them yourself.

Personally I would stay home as long as possible. I do believe it's better for the mood to rule your own life instead of being ruled no matter if my children visited, called me or not. I think it's normal they go their way and I go my own after they are standing on own feet.

Do you call/visit your parents/elderly family frequently?


  • Yes

  • No

  • Other

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

My parents are deceased, I only have my lovely sisters and we communicate very often over the phone because I'm in South Africa and they are in Nigeria.
I do however have very lovely family friends here that are elderly and I call to check on them once in a while.

It's a blessing one derives from carring for the elderly and I'm keen on tapping into that blessings.

Thank you for your vote. It's very kind of you to stay in touch with those you care about. Friends can be family too. A happy day to you and thanks for answering. 💕

You are welcome 🤗

Voted for

  • Yes

Yes I always stay in touch

I stopped about 30 years ago as I noticed I am the one always staying in touch with others but no one ever calls me to ask how I am doing. Thank you for your vote. 💕

😂😂 I fully understand that but someone needs to make the call or visit because the longer you leave it the harder it is please take a look 👀

Voted for

  • Yes

Thank you for your vote. I never call mine, and by now the test of the family probably died. 💕

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Other

I never visit my parents because they live with me.

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • Yes