Just A Little Bit More

in #aboutmelast year

After a year’s stay at home after senior high school, I had admission to the university I had applied to a few months back. This was in September 2014. I had qualified for a six year professional doctorate in medical laboratory science. I can recall like it was yesterday how my mother knelt down to thank God for an answered prayer.

I was happy, but again here was the issue of distance and my gender as a female. The school I had been admitted into was way up in the northern part of Ghana where most people would usually not want to go or it won’t be anyone’s first choice. I had lived all my life in the southern part and having to move was something new.

Traveling by bus was an average 12 hour journey on not a so good road🥲 to a place with “supposedly” harsh living conditions as I was told. The sun I was told was very scorchy and almost unbearable (which is true though).
I remember close friends and family telling me it was too far a place to go and there were a lot of uncertainties. I remember someone even telling me to use my admission fees and other funds to start a business🤦‍♀️.

I was twenty and had never been away from home and having to stay there for a good six years wasn’t going to be easy. In our part of the world where women are not really “encouraged “ to take up such tasks, it was indeed a decision to make. Other people told me six years was too long for a lady to stay in school. When are you going to complete, when are you going to get married and have children🤣. All these came up.

I knew what I wanted and wasn’t going to let any of these thing weigh me down or discourage me. I still went ahead anyway with support from my parents and truly it wasn’t easy, we will continue later about my experiences on another planet in the same country…….😂. Thanks guys

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tj4real1.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more