Bad experiences leave us great lessons [ENGLISH]

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)
https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmZai3ebD7cLKMxyUbetSzosnDRcmLBXzJVDdH1AWeJpSD

source

I always say of the bad experiences and events in our life we always have to take out the positive side, today I want to share with you all, that I just lived recently. Fortunately, I managed to avoid, this is a warning or caution for all my followers and fellow steemians within the platform.

textDiv1.png

Many know that steemit sometimes see cases of users who make scams, by various means such as contests, usurpation of identities, and even taking advantage of the good faith of others. On the 24th of this month, I suffered a quite alarming and unpleasant situation, I was about to be scammed by an unknown user who tried to impersonate a whale named @vortac apparently someone (influential) in steemit.

textDiv1.png

After finishing some of my daily posts I decided to enter and share my most recent posts through steemitchat here started this situation, when I was about to disconnect. A private message arrives in my inbox nothing out of the ordinary " apparently "was this user called @vortac trying to socialize, until the alleged user offers me his services or some help, which captures my curiosity a bit when I ask him what kind of help exactly ?.

textDiv1.png

he decides to send me his "account interactions" which is very strange to me, ignoring who is really before trying to continue the conversation, I decided to inform me with a friend who has much more time than me on steemit, after investigating a little about this person , I decided to follow the game, this user promises to "help me" by putting his SP or his votes at my disposal, and send me 1,650,000 STEEM to be exact, with the condition that I send 5SBD to his "account" to confirm if it really was me and then I returned it quickly.

textDiv1.png

All this situation seemed very out of the ordinary so I decided to better inform myself about who is that person and if he is the real owner of the account that was reflecting me, his recent interactions among other things. I decided to leave the conversation to such an extent that I made this person believe that I would send the 5 sbd and I disconnect. After going to one of the mentors of the community I belong #Thealliance @enginewitty informs me, this person is a scammer posing as this whale to take advantage of users who do not have much experience inside steemit from steemitchat.

textDiv1.png

Fortunately, I was not a victim of this scammer, taking certain precautions before doing anything, In order to avoid this kind of inconvenience I will leave you with a series of tips that may help you to act in any of these situations:

recommendations

  • know as much as possible to the person that you are going to make a transfer or payment for some service of votes.
  • Investigate his/her history movements and transactions, wallet.
  • If you do not have much experience in steemit, ask for help from a close friend in steemit that can guide you.
  • Try as little as possible to use steemit chat, since these promotion channels moved mostly to discord with their community

here some screenshots of the conversation:

1.png

5.png

2.png

6.png

7.png

This is the first time I have gone through a situation like this in my 7 months here in steemit, I hope that my reflected experience will help you to be more cautious, in these cases. I thank @enginewitty for guiding me and helping me.

is more than clear that not everything that shines is gold here in steemit, and not all people have good intentions, people who just like to cheat and hurt people that with great effort obtain its earnings

In spite of this, it is good to have a community that supports me as #Thealliance and friends for this type of circumstances. thanks for reading I say goodbye for this time I hope you are very well lovely followers and be careful.

already the scammer was blocked from steemit chat.

b409cb45627353184520114f7fb425b276ec4b78v2_hq.jpg

Sort:  

LOL, a lot of whales who are not on discord are having this problem, not just him. There are people out there pretending to be them and scamming for money. This really saddens me because I know @vortac here on steemit and he is really a great guy, supportive and nice to the community. The person who is impersonating him better never cross my path or I will kick some butt...

being honest i have a short time here on steemit and I didnt know him until I know this scammer usually I dont use these vote service cuz I dont have how to pay for it lol haha

Anytime. You're welcome 😎🤗

thanks very much :D giphy (3).gif