You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some thoughts regarding abuse fighting on Hive

in #abuselast year

Where even once forgetting about sourcing anything means you have to join their discord, jump over hoops to do certain appeals and if they refuse or don't respond they're instantly blacklisted.

I not too long ago had covid for the second time and make a little post ranting about it and didn't source some dumb meme. That got me downvoted on a few posts of mine that had nothing to do with whatever problem they had with me; I could not help but tell them to fuck off as a result. It was such a disgusting experience that I felt there was no other way to go about dealing with it than to straight up reply with aggression, because that's how it seemed they came at me.

Hivewatchers is one of the few things on Hive that I genuinely have a problem with, and I think they do so much damage to the point where people now just rely on stock images instead of trying to give their posts more personality, because weirdly these new users have had this posting structure engraved into them that implies there's not really another option. That or get downvoted and blacklisted by hivewatchers, bye bye account!

Not to say that I know of a better way to go about doing things or whatever. I don't really give it any thought in general. But yep, I agree with a lot of what you said.

Sort:  

Yeah there's a lot of abuse "nitpicking" I find utterly pointless and just destructive. It's one thing if a user is intentionally using images/memes/text to potentially deceive curators into receiving higher rewards and it's another to sometimes just share something in a text that's not even the main thing presented for curation to go out of your way to force your authority over them considering no history of intentional abuse has occurred in the past. Feels like they're either powertripping or trying their hardest to increase the amount of abuse to find to increase their odds for future funding, just dumb.

Slightly related to image sourcing/sharing on here at the moment: kind of insane that they'd go after such posts and AI text but AI images get a free pass. Even though courts have ruled they're void of any coypright protection because they both use other people's images and aren't manmade.

Just goes to show how silly things can be on here when it comes to a certain party using influence/stake to spread their own rules. Especially when we have things like Threads popping up now which are serving as a more relaxed method of short form posting.

Yeah, I agree with that and even though we're in the early phase of that technology, i.e. laws are literally being created about it as we speak, I think giving people some curation for their effort and process of finalizing certain AI artworks is okay for now as long as the AI artwork isn't the only thing they're presenting for curation but include things such as process, editing, thoughts, inspiration, ideas, etc. In the future if the AI tools could also source as to what was used (which I'm sure will happen soon) it'd be even better.

In the future if the AI tools could also source as to what was used (which I'm sure will happen soon) it'd be even better

I believe that is not possible with diffusion AI models. Since they are pretty much creating a new image from noise.

Also, I have no issue with people using AI art generated by diffusion models. It is no different than using an MTL to translate your text into another language. By using a diffusion model just the output of the medium changes.

Yeah this happened to me , exactly that , i was sharing a text with the link to open a discussion and a whale called me plagiarist ...like more than a year ago and since then she hates my guts too, go figure...

Destructive behaviors , with very too personal war is a hive bee killer.

logic (= Hivewatchers) doesn't leave you much choice but being pissed off at them. The alternative is jumping through his hoops of mercy, which is really degenerate.

But maybe if I earnd 145 HBD a day I also wouldn't want to stop.

Also kinda funny that someone gets paid to maintain a supposed standard on everyone else's posts doesn't even post themselves. :)