You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confessions of an Academic Postdoc

in #academia8 years ago

Interesting post. I have a B.S. in Physics and have been at a loss on where to go from here, as many (if not most) jobs are really requiring more education and specifically computer programming. Physics and mathematics go hand-in-hand, and I feel that I have learned so much about how the world works by studying math, but also completely humbled by what other people have achieved. One of the more interesting things being the "light cone" and the beauty of conic sections. Currently interested in hyperbolic geometry, fractals, and black holes. Will that lead to a job for me? Probably not, but there is so many interesting things about mathematics that I hope to understand in my lifetime. Rock on.