I've Been Away From Steemit Trying to Complete the Longest Post

in #adsactly5 years ago

I have just realized that I have been away from Steemit for nearly a month. Throughout the entire month, I have been busy completing and perfecting the longest post in my life. No, it's not this post, but my Ph.D. thesis.


This post can be a bit confusing and I apologize for this, that's because my mind has literally turned to mush in the midst of trying to complete my Ph.D. thesis.

For the last three years, I have been on a rather lonely journey trying to complete my Ph.D. thesis. At close to 65000 words and at about 220 pages, I hope that it will hold up when I am being evaluated. As I entered into the final months of my work, it has been a rather interesting journey. It has been a journey that has been both painful and enlightening.

I Feel Physically Sick


After spending at times up to 8 hours a day looking and figuring out what to write for my thesis, I feel physically sick looking at my work. You know how they use to say that Ph.D actually stands for Permanent Head Damage. I am starting to see the reason why.

I remember trying to figure out how to word a particular issue for quite a bit. It took me close to a day just to get one paragraph done. Even that I felt so drained. Every time I am being evaluated, I feel a sickening feeling in my being. There's this fear that gnaws at the back of my head and constantly tells me that I may screw up my work.

Image result for feeling sick

Image source

When I share this with some of my friends, well-meaning ones would always ask me what the big deal is. To them, even if I do fail, all I have to do is to start all over again. That may be true, but unfortunately, I am on a scholarship.

As such, I am only given 3 years to complete the entire thesis or I would have to pay back an equivalent of 4 Bitcoins (at May 2019 prices).

But I Have Learnt...


However, I have learned the value of just starting. Sometimes, it becomes rather overwhelming to plan everything perfectly. Even in the best circumstances, the best plans do tend to fall apart. As such, I have learned that the best thing that I can do is to just start doing it.

I believe that it is through starting, trying or doing that you will discover where the actual flaws are. I also believe that we sometimes get stuck in planning because just planning is a really comfortable place to be. As such, being uncomfortable and putting myself in a situation that has made me physically sick has made it possible for me to complete my work.

Conclusion


I hope this ends soon, as it is, my Ph.D. has drained quite a lot of me in terms of physically, mentally and emotionally. I'm even starting to get weird dreams, but that being said, I will see this through to the very end.

 




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.alvinauh.com/2019/05/26/ive-been-away-from-steemit-trying-to-complete-the-longest-post/

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice or Drugwars

I thought it's pizza hut delivery. But I like permanent head damage also 😂 point taken doctor auh.🤣

All the best Alvin
I'm sure you are overthinking it
You will do great andl save 4 Bitcoins :D

All the best on your thesis. I have never done a PhD but I can probably imagine how much stress you are going through. I guess one step at a time and you will get passed it eventually. Do have sufficient rest along the way and don't burn out :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I can imagine it can take its toll - good luck and I am sure you will get the rewards for doing this.