Vomiting Blood and The Fun Of Teaching

in #adsactly6 years ago

There is never a dull day in teaching. Of course, 'never a dull day' has a rather broad definition. The teachers whom I train would replace these exciting times of teaching with the expression, 'vomit blood'. To give a better illustration of such fun times, I will be talking about two stories that best illustrate this.

However, before that let's give you a bit of a background of what vomiting blood means. Of course, this is not meant literally but more of a figurative expression. The term stems from a Chinese expression. Here's an example of how it is used, "I am going to vomit blood if I have to remind you to do your homework again for the eighth time". I hope that gives you an idea to the tone of the stories, so let us begin.

Image result for face palm

Image source

The Cute Innocence


I was tasked with teaching a 9 year old girl on how to write an essay. The story was about how two boys were trying to help a poor old lady. The old lady in the story had tripped and passed out. As such, the story was a simple descriptive essay about the situation.

The 9 year old, lets call her Vicky, decided that the question and the prompts were boring. She then started concocting her own version of the story. Her story was about how the old woman had accidentally soiled her pants. As she was trying to rush to a toilet, she tripped, fell and fainted.

On came two boys who wanted to help the lady. As they could smell the stench coming out of her soiled pants, they were curious and lifted her skirt to see what was going on. As the essay got a bit 'interesting', involving more skirt lifting and poop splatting, I stopped her.

Related image

Image source


I explained that what she wrote was rather inappropriate. I suggested that she wrote something more related to the prompt. She stared at me and said, "but I thought essays were supposed to be interesting?" I kept a straight face, but I felt like vomiting blood. I was exasperated but had to explain to her about the difference between being practical, believable, logical and acceptable.

It is taking a while, but I hope one day, the stories involving poop would eventually stop.

Empty Threats


A student of mine had quite the potty mouth. He would swear at every opportunity he gets. I have to say that I was impressed that he was able to swear once every three words. Swear words were used as a compliment, an expression of anger and even a request.

It was not long before I thought that this had to stop. I spoke to him personally and told him that it had to stop. He agreed that it was a bad habit and that it had to change. However, this continued on without any end in sight. I finally threatened him. If he would not stop, I will tell his mother.

Image result for teacher parent conference

Image source


The student said that I would not F$%^&ing dare. Even if I dared, he claimed, no one would F@$%^ing believe me. I nodded and pulled out a video of him swearing to his friend earlier. The video was taken while he was too busy swearing. I showed him and sent it to his mother.

The swearing has since reduced. I did find out that his habit stems from his parents' habit of swearing as well. I have been advising him on this. Hopefully, he would one day be able to string a sentence without a swear word in it.

Conclusion


Despite all this, it has been fun working with them. Even if I felt like vomiting blood at times, figuratively, these students do make my days interesting. Sometimes, a bit too interesting.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://alvinauh.vornix.blog/2018/09/05/vomiting-blood-and-the-fun-of-teaching/

Sort:  

Oh yes, the life of a teacher, you either hate it or love it. Hopefully you will experience more fun than vomit.

Never heard that phrase used before. Very interesting. In both examples I think I would feel like doing that as well lol. Really unbecoming behavior from these two. But seems like you nipped it in the bud.

Thanks for sharing @alvinauh

Btw @alvinauh, just letting you know because of your Content Excellence you've secured a spot on randrew manuel curation trail.gif
Your Consistency in providing high quality Material is so much appreciated by the Steemit Community that we feel it should be rewarded Consistently :)

pocketsend:11@alvinauh, play around with the token of fun - POCKET!

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: alvinauh
New sending account balance: 116117
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 10360a69868145be9d0a2f32ffaf302e5ace732a
Thanks for using POCKET! I am running this confirmer code.

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: alvinauh
New sending account balance: 116117
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 10360a69868145be9d0a2f32ffaf302e5ace732a


pocket-logo.png

Someone sent you some POCKET tokens. POCKET is an experimental sub-token system which operates on the Steem blockchain. It's like having a custom token without SMT. You can also send some to someone else by just commenting on a post with the following command: pocketsend:number_of_token@recipient_name,memo for example to send 10 tokens to @pocketjs, make a comment starting with: pocketsend:10@pocketjs,This is a gift

I am running Pocket-JS confirmer code.

Haha! I actually love the girl's story! I kinda agree that her version is more interesting!

I imagined the boy's mother would swear as well. It would be a funnier ending if she came to school to hear your complaint about her son, and she casually sprinkled all her sentences with swear words while you got acquainted!


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP