You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Short Stories - Every Man to His Own

in #adsactly6 years ago

I had concluded in my mind that 'Victor' would turn out to be a failure because of his frivolous attitude to his academics. But then, 'who knows tomorrow'? No one! Not even me 😂

However, this last line is laced with a huge lesson for everyone;

and he never tried to be anything else but himself

That line is indeed a clarion call for all of us to get to know 'ourselves' very well so that we can do a better job of being 'ourselves'.

Sort:  

You are spot on in your comment. Many people get into trouble because they are trying to be someone else. If we are being ourselves and it gets us into trouble, then we would have the skillset or inherent ability to get ourselves out of it. But if we get into trouble for being someone else, that trouble may be enough to jeopardise our chances of future happiness. Thank you for reading through and for your meaningful comment.

You're welcome.

Thanks for not just writing this but also being kind enough to share it. God bless you real good @churchboy.

I'll keep a tab on your blog for further posts.
Meanwhile, I think I really enjoyed the story because you sprinkled it with some 'Nigerian elements'. I dunno if you understand my point.

I enjoyed it 'more' coz I'm a Nigerian.

Yes, I truly understand what you mean. The story holds more value for me because of that reason. I simply do not know how to write a story without giving myself away. My parents are Nigerians. I was born in Nigeria and I have not lived anywhere else but in Nigeria. Everywhere else I write about are places I have been in my imagination of simply visited.

Therefore, if I do not 'sprinkle' Nigeria into my stories, then the story would not ring 'true' to me. Thank you so much for taking the time to reply me again. I am following you now. With time we shall get to enjoy each other's friendship. We are awesome people...well people are awesome but I speak of the ones I know. Thanks bro.

Interesting.
Sprinkling your stories with Nigeria 🇳🇬 is your strength 💪. See it that way and it would propel you to the skies and even beyond...

Which part of Nigeria are you from? Or would you mind if I guess?

Boss, thanks for 'following' small me 😂. I look forward to basking in the positive lessons that comes with friendship.

Thanks again @churchboy

You already know. I am glad I met you.

To protect the forest