Domestic violence in marraige; a sin against LOVE

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

“Michael! Michael!! You come back here and show your man power” she hurried after him…

How it began

source: pixabay.
Their first wedding anniversary is in two weeks’ time! This one year has been filled with several avoidable arguments and misunderstandings, because no one was ever wrong.
At exactly 8:05 PM last night, Susan was busy sorting out makeover tools in her bedroom when her husband, Michael came in, she looked up, her gaze meeting his. She could sense trouble brewing in there. Brazing herself for the unseen trouble she kept her gaze as a sign of her readiness for whatever was up for the night. Michael seemed startled a little “must you stare at me like that? Try and be loving in you stare at least”, “see…” he continued “I haven’t come here to start any unnecessary argument with you tonight. I just wanted to inform you that we will be celebrating our one year wedding anniversary at my father’s house …okay?” Susan continued with her makeovers, and without looking up this time she replied “well it seems you’ve made up your mind already without conferring with me, your WIFE”. Michael, looking rather surprised, “of course I did made the decision alone, I am the man here (raising his voice gradually) it is my sole duty to make decisions for my family, this family!”

Of course she knew better than to get him angry but still trying to prove her point she carefully chose her words and with a still small voice “ see, I quite agree with the fact that you’re the man and head of this family, still I think I have the right to make and help in decision making too…”(Michael’s smile has faded completely, but she wouldn’t let that stop her), “…. don’t you think it’s better we invite our parents to this house and have the celebration done here, plus that’s the way it is done Michael, I mean that’s the way it ought to be” she said keeping her anger in check.

Now angry, but trying his best not to let it out yet “ well, am afraid I have made up mind already and that’s how it’s going to be, the celebration would hold at my father’s house and that is final” he said and made to leave the room. Susan now getting irritated “don’t you think that’s a little bit selfish of you……, I mean…., it’s just too ….”, she stops her statement as Michael cuts in angrily “woman, did you just said I am selfish?”, “are you angry already?” she questioned back, sensing that she finally woke up the sleeping dog.

Michael replied angrily “Susan, please I beg of you, never….. (trying hard to control his temper) …never answer my question with another question…I mean do not try it again till you leave this earth!”. “And what will you do if I do just that again? Ehn!”, also raising her voice getting ready for a fight, she stood to face him. Paying full attention to her now, Michael warned “Susan, don’t make my blood boil, you won’t like it I’m warning”. Now angry, she responded “what kind of man makes decision without consulting his wife? ...answer me! ....what kind of man will be so self-centered even after getting married? .....what kind of man…..” before she could finish her what kind-of-man rhyme Michael had slapped her hard on the face and worked out.
She held her face and amidst tears started cursing and calling on him to come back and face her for a fight, she picked a small stool behind the door and attempted to run after him shouting “Michael! Michael!! You come back here and show your man power”. Source: pixabay.
Susan picked up her phone to call her mother, unfortunately her line was not available. The stool still in her hands she checked to see if Michael was still in the compound as she couldn’t remember hearing the sound of the main gate open nor close. On second thought, she said to herself “I will wait here, if he has the guts, let him come back to this house”. The thought of Michael slapping her brought fresh tears to her eyes again, she sat down and sobbed quietly “when will he learn to consult me before making a decision, can’t he just understand that we are supposed to be one in all things?” “I know what to do” she concluded.

An elderly advice

It was a little past eleven in the night. Michael lost in his thoughts… “Why did I hit her? ... Did she deserved it? ...was I too harsh on her? ... Why has she chosen to make life difficult for me any time there’s a meaningful discussion? ...Did I make a mistake by marrying her? ... oh what have I gotten myself into?” For the umpteenth time he walked past his house not having the courage to approach the big black gate separating him from the large compound. Suddenly, he felt someone tapped him on his shoulder, he froze instantly, could that be Susan behind him, and probably with a sharp object?
source: pexels. He turned gently feeling more relieved when he heard the person’s voice having an elderly tone “my son, is there anything bothering you?… are you okay?” the old man questioned with concern written all over his face.
He had known this man for a couple of years, he is a friendly old man who lives nearby. Having waited for some seconds and still no answer from Michael yet, he reached out for his right hand and led him to his own house. He made him calm down, then once again asked him what the problem was. Michael quickly narrated what happened to him.

When Michael was done narrating, he waited for some seconds but there was no response from the old man, he looked at his face, the man seemed to be pondering on what he had just heard. He began to wonder if the old man was not sleeping already. He decided to tap him, but before his hand could touch him, the old man looked straight at his face as if to ensure that Michael gets the instruction he was about to give him. Then slowly he said “my son, I have heard your side of the story but I can’t say anything yet until I hear from your wife also, do you understand me? He answered “hmm…yes sir,…” the old man continued “so I want you to go inside her room and beg her sincerely. Let her know how truly sorry you are for hitting her, and promise her that it would never occur again…okay?,...can you do that for me?” “I think I can” he responded.

walking into a trap

Michael thanked the old man, took a deep breath and encouraged himself with these words; “I know she loves me, once I have a remorseful countenance she would be moved to forgive me”. With these words in his heart he let himself into the compound. Has he moved near the door, his instinct told him of an impending danger, he couldn’t understand why he suddenly became fearful of what his wife could do to him. A thought came to his mind… ”what if she hid behind the door waiting patiently for him to fall into her trap?” he shook his head and quickly dismissed the thought.

His heart still beating fast, he turned the doorknob and the door opened “too easily” as if to further confirm that he is walking into a trap. He decided to scan the room before letting himself in. With only his head inside while the remaining body remained outside, he swiftly scanned the room and there was no sign of Susan. He called out her name, no response followed. To be sure he wasn’t being tricked, he decided to check if she was hiding behind the door. The instant he brought his head towards that direction, he felt a sudden sharp pain in his forehead, as Susan hit him hard with the stool she was holding.
He staggered forward losing his balance, the room seemed to be spinning, he fell with his face to the ground and blood gushed out from his wounded head. source: wikimedia.
“Stand up and show your man power!” I will teach you a lesson today, no man dare beat me and go scot free. You would wish you never slapped me …. Stand up now! don’t think you can deceive me, Michael!...” She called but there was no response, “Michael! …” she called again louder this time and still no response. The stool fell off her hand, she could now see the blood from his wounded head clearly. A feeling of guilt immediately engulfed her. “Please, oh Michael pleeeeeeease, don’t do this …. I never meant to hurt you this bad…. Michael!!!...somebody help!!!!” She ran outside and back inside still shouting at the top of her voice, she held his body shaking him to bring back his consciousness, hot tears finding their way out of her eyes. He was later rushed to a hospital and admitted into an emergency ward.
Husbands, do you remember the promise you made at the altar? So, love your wives, do not raise your hand at any time to hit her.
Wives, love your husbands, that was the vow you made.
Let love reign in your home.

source: pixabay.



SAY NO TO DOMESTIC VIOLENCE!

Thanks so much for reading!