Floating the River at Pound Bend

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

So I got some friends together today and went to float Pound Bend, near Warrandyte, Australia. Its this magical bend in the river where you can float and find some emptiness. Beautiful gum trees, stealthy ducks. I try and do this at least once a summer. My old inner tube had a leak, but I glued/taped it up and away we went. One of my friend's tubes fared a bit worse though...it caught a snag and bubbled, plubbled, its way into early retirement.

If you haven't gotten out to float a river in awhile, or maybe ever, just wanted to say it can be a really lovely thing to do. We tie our water bottles to the tubes, but you can go upmarket and take a styro eski if need be. Some friends brought an inflatable mattress, which to be honest was the way to go - it protects your butt when going over the (small) rapids!

Anyhow, if its something you also love to do tell me where you like to go! I'm a wanderer and seem to make my way all sorts of places - going to float a river seems like as good a reason as any to visit somewhere.

Much love friends.

Sort:  

Cracking picture and story. I love doing stuff like this in the summer too. I live in the west of Ireland and make a point to explore as many rivers and camping spots as possible (with the little sunshine we do get). There's just something about nature that heals the soul I find

This looks lovely :) I'd like to tube in my lifetime.

Tubing is the best! I wish I did it more often. Come summer time, I will again, I suppose. :)