Just Passing Through : Southern Wisconsin

in #adventure6 years ago

Today was a long and beautiful day. We tried to head out from Kenosha as early as possible, but it didn't happen quite like we thought. After a very fast night of broken sleep, my eyes popped open at 5:30 a.m.

The family that was hosting us continued to pour out love as soon as we woke up. The room was filled with laughter and the hot tea was flowing. It was tough to pull away, but we knew it was time. After three weeks in Wisconsin it is time to head out.



Today we were just passing through. We drove west out of Kenosha headed for Missouri. We can't seem to get away from Missouri haha. Ultimately, we are headed to the west coast.

So, we have never been west of the Rocky Mountains. We are very excited about the idea of seeing the sun set over the pacific ocean.

As we work our way across the US I want to document some of the things we find. Today we found giant roadside attractions. It was a circus park in Delevan Wisconsin. There were giant statues of circus animals. One was of a rogue elephant named Romeo that in real life he weighed 10,500 lbs! I had no idea that wisconsin had so much circus traffic.

I hope you enjoy the pictures.


Romeo



https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

"Small town decorations"

Oh man. Flashbacks.

Of 1 month ago. So I was heading East from Montana. We had stopped at a friends in North Dakota and stayed an extra day. We needed to be reaching home. But in Wisconsin I decided I wanted a break from the interstate. Maybe see some lovely countryside.

Short story: I hated it.
Mostly just saw corn fields (meh).
And it made the drive SOOOOO MUCH LONGER. Between a town every 15 miles, and the speed limit 55mph on the open road.....UGH.

GRANTED...it was my fault since I was feeling a time constraint. I shouldnt have left the interstate. I didnt research the route for sight seeing..... So we found no cool circus parks.

Anyway....I hope to give Wisc. another shot in the future. But this southern WI detour really left a bad taste in my mouth. So....sorry for the whine. And yes I would like some cheese with it. XD

Peace

Hahahs yeah, we are doing the 55 slow roll. We love to actually see what is around us. The difference is we dont have a time restraint. So we are taking it in....in Dubuque Iowa now.

Very cool!

Enjoy!

Hope y'all enjoy your trip! Just got back from Cali not that long ago myself! This country is beautiful!

Yeah? I bet Cali was nice. Where are you located?

Oklahoma! Love it here!!!

"As we work our way across the US I want to document some of the things we find"

I love seeing you Documenting your journey and creating contents on the go!

keep it up my friend :)

Thanks man! We are on the adventure of a life time. I love the idea of being able to take others with us.

Glad you are enjoying it! Be well.

Happy to hear man.

Don't forget life is an adventure itself :)

That's my stompin grounds.

Yeah? I love it here. Where are you at now?

In my hometown, that lion was the drinking fountain in our park. So weird!

What!! That is amazing. We knew it was nice there....