FREEDOM FOR THE DUMPSTER DIVER

in #adventure7 years ago

@Bluerthangreen and @Papa-pepper have all sorts of adventures together.


The other day, we showed up at a store in Missouri to service it. I went to dump some litter that we had collected into the dumpster and noticed that the dumpster was occupied.

This little Raccoon was trapped. Obviously, it had come in looking for a quick meal but was then unable to escape. I am not sure how long it would have lasted without food and water in the hot Missouri sun, or if it would have got dumped out of the dumpster into a garbage truck before it perished, but I wasn’t about to let it have the chance to find out.

@Bluerthangreen got a shovel out of the truck and helped slide the Raccoon towards the top of the dumpster. I got something to lower in for it to grab onto.

Soon, the Raccoon was out of the dumpster looking to find its way back into the woods. I was impressed with how agile it was.

The Raccoon got back to its business and we got back to ours, but we were glad that we had the chance to help it out.

I made a short video for all those who like to watch too.




Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

So cute. I used to have raccoon as pet when I was younger. They are friendly animals

My brother had one when I was young too.

That is so cool. I miss mine. They are not so popular here I think from america no?

You powered up a Raccoon @papa-pepper the Steemit community salutes you! 😎

Powered up a raccoon! I like the way that sounds.

Good for you @papa-pepper!

While some see Racoons (or Trash Pandas as they say in Guardians of the Galaxy 2) as nuisance animals, I don't believe in unnecessary killing.

They have a place in the web of life and it's not my place to try to re-arrange that.

Keep up the thought provoking posts.

Upvoted and resteemed.

I'm glad that you approve of helping the dumpster diver!

There are far too many who wouldn't have helped it (or worse).

Congratulations @papa-pepper!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 7 with 581 upvotes

My girlfriend want one of these little bandits! :D It cost around 250$ here but I don't if it's good idea.

they are not domesticated animals and they have teeth and claws

That they do, maybe even rabies too!

Hmm... I could get you one cheaper than that! LOL.

Only thing worse than a pet chimpanzee, a pet raccoon!

I have no doubt they can make great pets when raised from a pup, but man I'd be worried coming home after a long day and catching a raccoon by surprise!

glad you share this and captured the moment! I will be amaze to see this in person. I only saw racoons in cartoon or children story.

They are very interesting animals in person. I really enjoy them and have encountered a few lately.

i'm so happy that racoon survived (: seems like a really horrible way ro die! thanks for sharing (:

Yeah, it was already really scared and that would have been terrible to die that way.

I love the way the racoon is looking at the two of you in the video, like he's hanging on your every word. Great post.

It was very concerned about what was going to happen next. I think that it appreciated our choice!

He is so cute!! My husband found TWO raccoons in a dumpster once! He put a 2x6 in the dumpster and within a few seconds they were out running across the field! Poor little guys! Great pics and video! Thanks for sharing! Upvoted but of course I'm already following you! Happy Friday!

Nice job your husband did there too!

FREE THE RACCOONS!

Haha Thanks, I will tell him! :)

It looks like the racoon was saying "OHH NO DON"T HURT ME, DON"T HURT ME, DON"T HURT ME, please...!"

Yeah, it was really scared. I'm glad that we got the chance to be kind to it.

If having a soul means being able to feel love and loyalty and gratitude, then animals are better off than a lot of humans most of the time Some people talk to animals. Not many listen though, That's the problem. My dad said to me one-day quote Animals are born who they are, accept it, and that is that. They live with greater peace than people do. thank you for your help nature will compensate you.

My options were limited, and I chose to help. Glad that you appreciate it!

The racoon is very smart

He still needed help out of this one (joking).

I agree, thanks @me-tarzan.

See? That's why they're the Trash Panda :) glad you could come to the rescue.

I appreciate your storytelling style and look forward to your posts. Thanks for being a part of the steemit community. You were a catalyst for me to join.

I appreciate your comments and glad to hear that you like the way I post. I try to flavor it a bit and make the read entertaining.

Love raccoons! Well done @papa-pepper, you saved a life

Gad to hear it! Thank you.

That's a kool raccoon B).

It sure was. A bit bigger than the last one I hung out with too!

Had a racoon for pet and it was a great pet.

My brother had a pet one too. Also, you won a t-shirt in my latest post!!!

Good News is racoon survived :)

Yes he did! And he was very happy about it!

Hey ! He's in my spot !! HA ~ seriously, what an awesome good deed @papa-pepper , enjoy your posts always good sir

I've been in a few dumpsters in my time too, alone. Wouldn't want company like this.

Cool post ;)

Thanks mate! Glad that you think so!

you are welcome :)

Really cute little Raccoon! He/she was very lucky and you both are very kind to help him/her get out of the dumpster! :)

Yeah, we like to help out and have fun, so we were glad that we found it before someone else. Too many people kill for fun these days.

That's really nice of you! I admire you both on this very much! ;)

Animal life

Some days it is. There are everywhere!

I love stories with happy endings!

So do the raccoons @lakshmi!

How are your elderberry cuttings doing?

Hanging in there with tiny little shoots. Red Mulberry is doing great. I will take some photos soon to document.
Did the boxwood survive? and what about the beans and nasturtiums. Wonder if you have had much time to garden with new baby etc.

Little rascal...good for helping out. Looks like u got some karma points coming your way ;)

Haha, points coming my way.

That's one agile Racoon :) It's funny you recommended it to join steemit. I hope it listened to you and l we will see some posts from it :)))

We will see if @raccoon makes an intro post soon!

When the raccoon eats the food I put out for the can I get a little upset. On the other time, I have the window open in the bathroom without a screen and the raccoon comes in and starts drinking water out of the toilet... I was like what the heck is going on !

Now that would make a great post! Toilet drinking raccoon!

Musical reply. We will not add this to #steemradio-music :)

He's finding some good stuff in the dumpster.

It is probably a usual stop for him, but maybe more full the other times.

I think he may be a little camera shy.

It was very cautious about what we were up to.

I am glad you were able to help rescure the creature.

We were very glad to, plus it liked it too!

I saw a crazy raccoon fight a few years back. These two raccoon's were circling around a tree, where another raccoon was hiding. They were screaming at each other the whole time, and when it finally went down it was fierce! I wouldn't want to be caught between two coons engaged in a battle, that's for sure!

I used to wrestle with one when I was younger. It was a "pet" that my brother had for a bit. Thankfully it "fought nice."

They are vicious at time lol

Yes they are. I would not want to get bit!

An inspiring event, We can conclude that everything is entitled to freedom. And we must have souls to help each other.

Many blessing for you @papa-pepper

Thank you @joe28. We thought that it was the right thing to do.

Yeah my man.

I like your style

I always like to see somebody catch a break. Sometimes we all need that.

Yes we do! Absolutely! Thanks @cqdx!

im a big fan of coons and friends and friends of coons

Maybe I should write about the summer we had 4 raccoon kits as pets. Their scavenging mama had less luck than your friend there.

Great work sir! I would've done the same! Faith in humanity restored :) Thanks for sharing!

Good for @papa-pepper. Your love for animals shows up in most of your posts.

Nice work @papa-pepper, caught some great pics of the escape to freedom!

Geat work my dear so I vote you

You're a modern day hero @papa-pepper. Always helping out those in need.

Can you give me a link to your you tube channel.
Cheers thanks

alangkah bahagianya dia bisa menikmati hidup dengan bebas