Morsárdalur in Skaftafell National Park, Iceland.

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7118.JPG

@ghostfish contemplating the misty, jagged landscape of Morsárdalur.

"Morsárdalur is the 10km-long, flat-bottomed glacial valley west of the Skaftafellsheiði plateau; you can get here either by following trails from Svartifoss, or along a flatter path direct from the Visitor Centre. The main target here is Bæjarstaðarskógar, a small wood of willows and birches, close to a sublime geothermal pool just big enough for two people. To extend the hike, continue up Morsárdalur and then bear west in front of little Morsárjökull glacier for Kjós, a strikingly beautiful canyon of bare, fractured boulders and sharp yellow crests."

https://www.roughguides.com/destinations/europe/iceland/eastern-southeast-iceland/southeast/skaftafell-national-park/morsardalur/

IMG_7117.JPG

Sort:  

That's amazing! I definitely want to go to Iceland one day, maybe get a camper van and drive around and take hikes and all that. This looks incredible. I write about travelling on my blog as well, currently about my backpacking trip through Sweden. I will also write about my camping trip in New Zealand, which was so cool!

The world is such a beautiful place, I can't wait to discover more of it :)

isn't the world just marvelous? And once you get bitten by that travel bug, it's hard to shake it off. I hope you get to do all those things too! I will check your blog out. Thank you!

Damn! It looks/sounds amazing. I'll get there someday. Did yall find that geothermal pool?

I wish we did! I didn't even know it was there until I read this snippet from a travel guide. I think I had to take a woodland shit somewhere in the willows and birch. It was very humbling but also, what a relief! I hope I did not contaminate the water supply. ahahahh We did get to see aurora that night, which was the best surprise ever! I hope you get there. You will fall heavily under its spell.

That's a nice view! :D we have something similar in Romania! :)

Where?? I'd like to see a photo. :D

It's called The Red Ravine (RO: Râpa Roșie). I've been there and it was a great experience. I will make a future post about it in the next week and will tag you to see more pics and details about it :D

U5dqtynnZroL1q4Y3PpG5brvpDERjQg_1680x8400.jpg

That's beautiful! It is definitely a brighter version of the one we were at. Excited to see your post!