Planning for the Apocalypse - Part 2 (the loophole)

in #adventure7 years ago

Backpacking

I mentioned in a previous blog post (https://steemit.com/adventure/@wildwoman/planning-for-the-apocalypse-part-1) before about my secret desire to plan for the apocalypse and that I love to hike and backpack. In backpacking I have learned to carry a fairly heavy pack around the wilderness for a few days of fun in the woods with friends. I have lots of gear to sort through depending on weather and time frames and how long we will walk. Sleeping bags for warm weather, really cold weather, lightweight tents, freeze dried food, water filtration systems, fire starters, propane and light weigh quick stoves. See where I am going with this. I have a garage full of gear and backpacks to put it in and I regularly go out in the woods and carry it around. I AM TRAINING FOR THE APOCOLYPSE… I found a loophole.

People see my gear and pictures from my trips and say, “THAT’S AMAZING” and “OH THAT’S SO COOL, I WISH I COULD DO THAT” and “WOW, you have 2 tents and 4 sleeping bags that’s great!” By the way these same people give me a weird look when they see my backpack clearly labeled “Emergency Pack” in the trunk of my car. I tell them it’s full of water, flares, emergency solar blankets, and anything you could need for about 72 hours if you were stuck. Then they give me the “That’s crazy, are you paranoid?” look and I immediately say,” My mom makes me do it!”

SO I hike and backpack to keep me somewhat sane. My brain clears somewhere between miles 5 – 15. When I am doing a multiday and my sole point is to get to the next area and set up camp or find water I stop thinking about all the other stuff that sticks in my head. Everything clears out and it’s a kind of moving meditation. I also find solace in seeing what’s in nature…what has remained through storms and wind and hail…besides the postal service. What I have found is that while it keeps me sane it also helps to make me look sane when my crazy side starts getting paranoid. It’s the difference between people saying:

“She’s a doomsday prepper” (insert eye roll and smirk) and “She backpacks all over the place” (insert wide eyes and look of admiration with slight jealousy)

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wildwoman to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!