5 Ways to Feel Better Right Now

in #advice6 years ago

Hello Steemians!

smiley-1966857_1280.jpg

We all sometimes feel down. So here is the list of five things I like to do to feel better:

  • Do a 'brain dump'

Sometimes I over-think things. I'm going around in circles, trying to reach a solution to a problem, but I'm only really being unproductive. I've found that it really helps me if I write it all down. It's similar to journaling, but what you're really doing is stream of consciousness. You're letting your thoughts flow onto the paper, you don't care about spelling, grammar, punctuation, or the beauty of your handwriting. For me, the uglier the better. If it's not legible, I can relax more into this process because I know that even if someone finds what I've written, they won't be able to read it. You can even scribble and ruin the paper altogether. What's important is to get all that shit out of your head. What really happens is that, you obviously can't write as fast as you can think, so by doing this you actually slow down the process in your head and then you can more easily catch the things that are tripping you up and break the circle. This is why I believe it's important to do it by hand. You might also come to some new realizations about yourself. After you're done, you will have a clear mind and you'll probably be closer to the solution of your problem.

  • Relax

Allow yourself to relax. Find the time just for yourself, even if it's just 10 minutes. Do it without guilt, and don't use it as an excuse for procrastinating. I've fell into that trap more than once, and it only makes you feel worse. So do what you gotta do, but give yourself time to rest. When I'm stressed and on a deadline, if I start feeling overwhelmed, I let myself have a small break where I don't think about anything, or I do or watch something fun. When I return to my work, I'm re-energized and I finish more easily.

  • Eat your favourite meal

Do I even have to explain? Good food makes all of us happy.

  • Reach out

Spend some time with the people you like and who make you feel good. Ask for help if you need it. If not, just hang out. If you don't have friends, reach out online. The internet is filled with people who are similar to you. You just have to reach out, and find them.

  • Count your blessings

Take some time to appreciate what you have. Just stop for a second, and stop thinking about the things you want and the things that are currently out of your reach. Can you be grateful for your warm bed? For the roof over your head? For your child, parents, or a partner? Can you appreciate the fact that you haven't died yet? There's a high probability that there's someone who dreams about the kind of life that you lead. So just stop, and be grateful.

What kind of things do you do to feel better? :)

Sort:  

Very nicely written, thank you for sharing 💚 These are very good pieces advice.

Meditation, sports, a walk or a bath... Lots of things help, it's important to listen to yourself what you need most at the exact moment. :)

Indeed, we are all different. Thanks for the comment :))