Sort:  

Blender is easy enough to get, you can totally give it a shot and see if you find it easier or harder or the same XD

I can't really compare the modelling as I used a trial version of Maya for less than the equivalent of a working day trying to nut it out and gave up way too easily (mostly because I was idiot testing a bunch of 3d apps to see which one would be easiest to pick up, I did not find it easy to pick up XD). It's not altogether difficult in Blender and I'm really not good at modelling either.

The Retopoflow addon that I bought is purely to make retopo quicker and easier, it can be done in straight Blender as well and I have done it but I hate it.

The building is just a bunch of shapes that I'm snapping together but the snap tool is misbehaving, I think it's something to do with or possibly a combination of the amount of objects (there's a lot making up this building and there's going to be a lot more) and the size and shape of some of them (the ramps are weird shapes and very big).

oh thats interesting really , I actually used Blender on my previous company, but we only used it for Comp just cause it was free haha, But havent tried using it for modeling or lighting nor rendering , I might give it a shot and download this one !

Cheers man !

I'm a bad example of modelling, lighting and rendering as I haven't done anything good for quite a while, but there are a few people who have and some of them are even scattered around here somewhere. The website has a pretty good showcase obviously.

Looking forward to seeing what you came up with whenever you have some time to play ;D

for me i have always enjoyed the Lookdev process, Doing the textures , Lighting and doing final look, Modeling is my weakest skill sadly, But what i will do is give it a shot ! why not :D