August ProgBlog #4: more fingers

in #aer4 years ago

Finally got done with the hands (or at least as done as I can be/am prepared to do).

I really hope I don't regret the decision to try and fix some of the more finicky things in the normal map later x_x

This is actually the right hand. I usually work on the left side because I manage to get in my own way less on that side. I am showing off the right hand because I had to hide the right arm so I could start working on the wings.

The arms aren't too difficult to fix the shape of. The wing fingers on the other hand...

...they're spindly annoying little things and they're on both sides XD I tried turning on the transparency in an attempt to get them to line up better and only succeeded in confusing the hell out of myself. I'm pretty sure they're not quite right but it's something I'll have to fix after baking.

Then I need to go through and fix up the edges and shapes on the wing membranes.

Thin areas. Really not looking forward to that.

This post also appears on my blog.

A speed sculptor I am really not.

Actually I'm the opposite of anything speedy XD

I also haven't forgotten about my current cameos, we're in the process of trying out new work schedules.

Want a crowd character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

#teamaustralia on PAL | ANZ | Be Awesome | artbees

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Another 3D fellow here :) . Cool models ! Looking forward to see more :)

Posted using Dapplr

Hi! 😄 thanks! More may be a while in coming as it takes me ages to to anything 😅

yeah i know how the CG process goes, could take looong times

are you using symmetry or " mirror"?
Our friend is almost going to fly! xD

Symmetry. Is there another mirror in blender aside from the modifier that I hate using? 😆

Almost! Just need to finish fixing up the sculpt and retopo and then he can get his rig and some clothes and go play with the other character 😄

I only know this xD :

I don't know ... but I think you're going to want to leave him naked xD Clothes could cause a lot of mess, or not 😅?

That would be the mirror modifier that I hate ;D

There is also a symmetry thing in the top right corner by default but that only mirrors transforms, it won't mirror topology modifications like cuts which really annoys me >_<

Clothes are fine, multi-layered clothing can be a pain. How you'll want to animate them depends on your style. If you have a cartoony style it's easier as you can just weight them to the character rig for big movements and use a clothing rig and maybe shape keys for smaller flaps and things.

Because I'm using particle hair and kind of needed the clothes to look as good I ended up using cloth dynamics x_x which I'm still struggling to figure out. I made a super quick video (link goes to my blog not the hive blog) with my really fast tmoving character and if I can get the cloth dynamics to work with her (they almost did XD I didn't want to play around with it too much longer as I still have so much to build) then they will work with anyone XD

I loved the dancing movements of your character that gets naked in the middle of the demonstration xD
What version do you use in Blender? Do you know if i's possible to apply Globlal symmetry instead of local with the mirror tool?

Haha thanks, that was better than it was where the pants used to completely fly off XD

I'm using Blender 2.83 (.5 to be precise but it was .4 last night XD)

What do you mean by global symmetry instead of local? Or maybe a better question is what are you trying to do?

I want that when applying symmetry of an isolated element of the set it is applied on a global and not independent axis of symmetry. Let me explain xD:

If you have a face and you have created an eye as an independent figure of it, you will have an independent axis of symmetry for each one and in turn you have the global axis of symmetry that is your work table 😄

Looks like the arm's been ripped off! 😲

Does look rather uncomfortably like that doesn't it 😱

He'll be fine once I press alt-H or whatever the unhide combo is 😜

So you're not beating him with the soggy end. 😜

Tempting sometimes XD

Nah the only thing I'd be hitting this character for is some of his dubious life choices XD he's pretty alright otherwise. There's another one I'd happily beat but I'm scared of him just like everyone else XD

Love those wings. I like that they are not all smooth and polished, that there are irregularities at the bottom edge. Is the character part of a bigger project? Sorry I haven't been following along.

They'll be somewhat smooth and polished when I'm done as I need the sculpt to bake normals ^_^;

The skin textures I'll slap on afterwards should hopefully make them less polished.

Yep this is part of a bigger project. And no worries it's a pretty big project that I'm moving at glacial speed on so you won't miss much :)

ps thanks ^_^ (I'm so rude and also pre-emptively pressed reply like a noob)

It's too impressive. You must know a lot about doing 3-D things that are cool. n.n

Thanks! 😄

No not really, I know a bit about characters as that’s what I’ve been hyperfocused on, learning a lot as I go and still a lot to learn 😅

You really do a lot of good 3D art. Every part of you looks perfect I am waiting for the pie final I hope your whole art will be much more beautiful and will turn into a perfect vampire.

Thanks!

Though I don't think it's a lot, I'm just really slow ^_^; really hoping I'll get this one done by the end of the week but it depends on what else is going on x_x

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14000 replies. Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup

You do impossibly beautiful art. I have been looking at your posts for a long time. I am really surprised to see your pictures. You are actually very creative. You should continue.