March ProgBlog #3: just ugh

in #aerlast year

That feeling when you're the only one that knows that you did stuff because it doesn't look like much changed at all.

That was a big part of why I decided to just let the streak break than try and push a late progblog. The other reason was that all the other stuff was a huge fight (some of it physically fights, or at least shouting matches, but mostly just the usual struggle trying to keep on top of things).

Stupidly I missed a whole row in that screenshot, this is what happens when your naming system is descriptive enough but you forgot what you were doing.

I think the layering is somewhat working out better, and I managed to resolve some issues I was having on the hands.

Also turned down the subdivision modifier from 3 to 2 on the smaller feathers and am hoping that I can drop the really small ones to 1, because I managed to completely forget it was set that high.

Mondays are one of the days in the schedule that is very hit or miss for various reasons, mostly because 16yo has a large gap between shifts and we occasionally run errands in the gap instead of going home (may as well seeing as we're already out and about). We did run some errands but we also managed to get back early enough that I managed to get some work done on poor Aoife, who has once more been started again because I am physically incapable of struggling along to "just finish" something that I'm not happy with. This is why I don't do commissions anymore, people would be waiting unreasonable lengths of time and I don't like that either.

She's now green and I've...I want to say combined colouring styles but basically I've just neatened up and slapped the sketch colouring style I was playing with on top of my rendering style, which is extremely simplified because I'm still trying to keep it as a sketch.

On the one hand it is way more involved than I would normally do for a sketch but it's also not quite a sketch because I made nice freaking lineart for it and this is what happens when I don't keep things sketchy.

I am probably going to leave the lineart but I am doing my usual rendering style tests knocking it off to see if the shading is okay.

And I'm probably going to use the hair brushes because that's what the feeling is.

I think I'm slowly fighting everything back under control, including accepting the fact that my streaks are going to break frequently because that's just how things roll.

I'm somewhat concerned that I'll have to completely drop my in-person roleplaying games to be able to keep up with everything else (the play by post games aren't actually going at the moment but I'm not foreseeing much difficulty keeping them up as the pace is a lot slower). They already get dropped if we get busy (we have missed a couple of sessions in a row as the bigs had a performance rehearsal on the weekend and the actual performance is coming up next weekend, and they will get dropped during comp season when we have stuff on).

Only thing I can do is keep trying to keep things under control.

I really don't know how anyone else does it, I'm struggling x_x

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a cameo character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Fun Discord servers:

Hive Australia | Be Awesome | artbees | OnChainArt

-={ ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

I can so relate to your pace and struggle.
Let's just keep putting one foot in front of the other, whenever we can.

xx

I hope you're not having massive fights with people XD The rest of it is just a constant freaking struggle sometimes though isn't it x_x

Sorry to hear about all the shouting matches. That does not seem fun at all.

Not fun in the slightest x_x hopefully just this year and it will come good next year. I don't do good 13-15yos -_-

Honestly, I'm not sure anyone on the planet does.

Apparently some are beautiful, parents got really lucky or they were horrible children or turn out to be horrible adults XD

Feathers! I really like the pose in the sketch.

I'm still sure there's some super secret blatantly obvious and really easy way to do them that I don't know about XD

Thanks! I haven't done anime shenanigans for so long even that basic pose is currently well out of my comfort zone XD

Normal maps? (For the feathers?)

Super basic procedural textures.

Screenshot_20230328_150628.jpg

I developed a strong hatred for uv maps after multiple mishaps developing my base models (all of them user error either from stupidity or the learning curve) so I'm very irrationally doing my utmost to avoid baking x_x

I also more specifically meant there was probably some quick and easy way to layer these feathers (I'm doing them one by one like a loser), sorry for not being clear ^_^;

It has been 4yrs. I can feel myself getting old.

Also i commend your dedication. Usually if i don't finish any drawing i make within a month. I just forget about it.

And if i do come back to it, 1-year later. My art style has changed so much that i just end up redoing the whole thing.

Kewk.

Hopefully i see the day this get finished before i kick the bucket.

Hopefully i see the day this get finished before i kick the bucket.

LoL same and I have much less time than you XD

My art style has changed so much that i just end up redoing the whole thing.

You're still in development phase so that will happen a lot. Roll with and enjoy the occasionally frustrating process :) I was pretty relieved when I finally plateaud as while it does mean you don't improve for ages and it's generally incremental, it meant everything was somewhat stable XD

The Tatoo and feathers are complete. Steps! Making progress ohh yeah.

Trueeeeeeeeeeee so True, welp i hope by next year. I get a guud Pc and decent with blender. To catch up with @rainite skill in 3d art and Beat up @adamada. YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Only one tattoo and feathers are still not quite complete. Or were you talking about something else? ^_^;

Keep working while you can, soon as other people (friends you want to hang out with a lot, romantic relationships, kids etc) and work enter the mix at adult level, everything kind of goes to hell in a handbasket and you just end up muddling along as best you can XD

It's like he's trying to communicate to me, I just sense it.

At least with forewarning you can now plan your defence and counter? XD

Hyper death.

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 21500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 22000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the April edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Congratulations @ryivhnn! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the April edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
The Hive Gamification Proposal