It is snowflake flowering time again

in #alwaysaflower4 years ago (edited)

My heart sings when I see the pretty white creamy flowers covering the snowflake bushes. It is a once a year affair and although May is suppose to be the month the bushes come alive with the blooms, it is more June July in my garden. The flowers resemble lace and I always think of the delicate flower called 'Baby's Breath when huge bunches sit in vases in the house.

Open your blooms pretty flowers
Bring your perfume and colours inside.

IMG_1552.jpg

The flowering snowflake bushes are in the front garden because they do better on the eastern side of the house catching the long hours of sun during the day. They only like to be watered a couple of times a week so are easy to look after. If the get too much water the bushes do not bloom as magnificently and I have noticed that leaves turn yellow and tend to fall off.

IMG_1554.jpg



IMG_1557.jpg

IMG_1558.jpg

Snowflake bushes are easy to maintain. Once the flowering has finished they need to be cut down to the trunk. In a short space of time little leaves start sprouting. If anyone wants a tree all is needed is a little branch that is planted in the garden or a pot and trust me it will grow in the right conditions and care. Some people see snowflake bushes as unattractive nuisances cutting them out of their gardens. For me that is a travesty as I see them as not only enhancing my garden and home but also as lovely gifts for friends.

Pick some pretty flowers
Tie them with a bow
Give them to a special friend
And watch her happiness grow.

IMG_1566.jpg

Snowflakes are related to the poinsettia shrub, both are native to Central America and both have a similar a middle part to the flower design. Although they are very different with the colour of their flowers and the shape and size of their leaves. The poinsettia shrub is often used as a symbol for the Christian Christmas celebration. Here is the beautiful red poinsettia that is positioned in my back garden.

IMG_1563.jpg



IMG_1565.jpg

The snowflake bushes and the poinsettia shrub flower all year round so there is alway a flower lovely @dswigle, which has made it an extra @beautifulSunday. Thank you @ace108 this tag is one of my favourites.

Redirect Notice.jpeg
source



Happy beautiful Sunday everyone, sending you all a flower.

Cheers and Blessings

............................................................................

New Note.jpeg
source

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @angiemitchell! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Must feel nice to have fresh flowers in the home.

It does and something that does not happen as often as it could🤨

Lovely overall post Angie. Thanks for sharing.

Such a warm and inviting post, Angie! @angiemitchell

I love that flower and need to look it up to see if we have it here. Such a soft, lovely blossom.

Of course, I still cannot get over the fact of you having poinsettias all year round. I tried to grow on after the Christmas season (it is traditional to give poinsettias at this time of year) and it has so many rules for this hemisphere. Cover it, water it, put in the dark for a month. Give it lots of water, don't water it.

Yeah. I failed. Pfft! LOL

Yours is stunning! Thank you for tagging me so I didn't miss it! It is beautiful!

Upped and Reposted

!tip

Good morning @dswigle, I posted pics of the poinsettia flowers with you in mind. Our summer is hot so the winter is an ideal season for flowering bushes and shrubs. Such a shame that your attempts to grow the poinsettia has not proved successful so far. I completely understand your frustrations.

I know! LOL Most people over here have a lot of trouble with them. There is some special secret you have that you aren't telling! :)