Wednesday Walk in Tasmania

in #amazingnature4 years ago

IMG_4415.JPG

As you may know, I have been travelling and I'm currently staying at a friend's place on the outskirts of Hobart, Tasmania, so today I'm taking my Wednesday walk here.

From almost the highest point on this side of the Lenah Valley, I look to my left and see Hobart, above. Nice view!

IMG_4432.JPG

The lots here are really steep as we're on the foothills of Mount Wellington. I walk down to the back of the lot and into a nature reserve, passing these gum trees. I know what you're thinking -- I posted dead trees -- but they're not dead, they just shed their bark. It falls on the ground around the base of the tree.

The hill is really steep so pictures will resume when I reach the bottom.

IMG_4573.JPG

At the bottom of the hill, there is a little more nature reserve and then we are in parkland. You can see it has been very dry lately.

IMG_4563.JPG

I followed a path across the stream and joined the main walking trail that, if I follow far enough, will take me to Mount Wellington.

IMG_4466.JPG

The path is well groomed but dusty. It mostly hugged the stream and I met people and dogs out for a walk.

IMG_4533.JPG

The water is very low right now but Hobart can get a torrential downpour and overflow the stream in a day.

IMG_4529.JPG

Along the path, is the occasional art exhibit. This one is meant to depict a small fish found in this stream.

IMG_4535.JPG

After awhile I turned around and decided to take the road back. Up ahead is a little one lane bridge that crossed the stream. Now while I didn't take other photos of the road, you had to walk up to the houses on my right and down to the houses on my left, so steep. However, I was too busy admiring the flowers.

IMG_4538.JPG

There are so many that I don't see in my own country and there are also surprises, like geraniums, that grow wild here and can be shrub sized. In the photo, above, these seemed to come from a large bulb. In the photo, below, these were growing in many gardens along with a white variety.

IMG_4539.JPG

The blackberries didn't escape my notice. I had found a large patch of them growing wild up the road and I stopped to sample a handful.

IMG_4541.JPG

You can see a few blackberries on the right, above.

IMG_4543.JPG

I have learned that this is called kangaroo grass. Next, I have a surprise for you (and, no, it's not a kangaroo.)

IMG_4547.JPG

This is the cottage commissioned by Lady Jane Franklin, wife of the first governor of Tasmania. It's now an art gallery and it will be the subject of another post. Later, I learned this area is called Ancanthe Park and it's an important entry point to Wellington Park at Mount Wellington.

IMG_4565.JPG

I crossed the street and found the path where I had started. This is where the side trail crosses the stream.

IMG_4570.JPG

There were a couple more art exhibits including this maze, above. It's a lot of fun to watch little children running around it. And now I have to climb back up that hill.

Many thanks go to @tattoodjay for the wonderful #wednesdaywalk tag.

References

Ancanthe Park

Images

Photos by @kansuze usng a Canon SX620 HS in the Lenah Valley, Hobart, Tasmania

Follow footer.gif

I hope you enjoyed our walk!
@kansuze

Sort:  

Beautiful walk, and even more beautiful nature ^^ It is a beautiful place ;)

What beautiful shots onyor walk, looks like a lovely reserve

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Nice photography walk in Tasmania.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment