Acapulco is dangerous. Seriously... - {Anarchapulco 2018}

in #anarchapulco6 years ago (edited)


Anarchapulco 2018

I recently visited Acapulco for a conference called Anarchapulco from the 15th of Feb to the 19th. In January the united states released a travel warning on Acapulco and a couple other places in Mexico.

I found it rather coincidental that it was released about 3-4 weeks before the Anarchapulco conference, anyway besides that, coming from South Africa I had some concerns as I was traveling alone, also relatively far from home {About 2 days of traveling}. Regardless, I decided I need to go check this place out, I had heard more good things than bad.

So I left Durban, South Africa on the 11th of February to Dubai, from Dubai I went to Dallas, Dallas to Mexico City and then Mexico City to the oh so dangerous place called Acapulco...


Mid flight from Dubai to Dallas - roughly 24 hours into my journey

I landed in Acapulco on the 13th of February, greeted by a lovely taxi driver who took me to my hotel, The Princess Mundo Imperial. The humidity was crazy! I was pretty nervous coming, It was all so new but slowly the excitement kicked in. The hotel was beautiful, if any of you ever go to Acapulco, I highly recommend the Princess Mundo Imperial, the grounds are stunning, very friendly staff and the vibe is so happening. Also a great place for kids, saw plenty families there. Probably one of the best places I've been to, and I have done a fair amount of traveling.


The hotel in the evening


Beautiful


As you walk into the lobby

I arrived a day earlier to explore Acapulco a little before the conference started, ventured to the Zip Line across the Bay. This place was magical, the sea is so blue, not a cloud in sight, sunshine and so many happy people... Dangerous right?


Acapulco Bay Zip-lining

Also went to the most divine restaurant that evening overlooking the bay, it's called Becco Al Mare. Delicious food and wine, beautiful setting as well. Highly recommend it.


Views at dinner

The next day was the start of the most eye opening, inspiring & thought-provoking conference I've been to, it was an unforgettable experience. The information, time and effort that was put in was huge! Big shout out to the Anarchapulco Team, you guys did great. Thanks To Jeff Berwick for bringing the conference to light, because if it wasn't for you, I wouldn't have even known about it. The speakers ranged from former Congressman Ron Paul, Mike Malony, Roger Ver, Jeffrey Tucker, G. Edward Griffin, Jeff Berwick, to others like; Adam Williams, Vit Jedlicka, Tim Moen, Simon Dixon and many more. The list is actually very long. I have noted and recorded almost every single speaker I heard, let me know in the comments below if you'd be interested in having a write up done about each speaker and what they spoke about.

Also, here is the Anarchapulco website link for more info : https://anarchapulco.com/speakers/


The people who made it happen


The was painted during the conference by the one and only MEAR ONE - Awesome!

19th of February was the last day of the conference for me, and probably one of my favorite days. It consisted of the best speakers, the best information and it opened my eyes to the future of the Crypto space as well as all the bad that comes with the society we live in. Once again, thanks to Jeff Berwick {The Dollar Vigilante} for organizing this day. It was outstanding and I will definitely be returning next year, hopefully next year it can be two or three days long. My next couple of posts will be specific to what I learnt during my time in Acapulco. So watch this space...


Head to the TDV website and subscribe, its such an eye opener. Thank you to The Dollar Vigilante

So over all, I had the time of my life, I ate the most incredible food, met extraordinary people, gained great knowledge and experienced an earthquake of 7.5 magnitude which scared the living daylights out of me, however it was probably the most dangerous thing that happened on this trip. Thank you Acapulco for showing me the light, and for all you people out there, the US Travel warning is Bull****! I'll be back Acapulco!

I could go on and on about all the information that I got from Anarchapulco, but my plan is to try dive deeper into what I gained and create a post for each speaker/subject that I learnt about. Hopefully by doing that, everyone can gain from it because it will be pretty in depth.
Thanks for taking the time to read this, hopefully it wasn't too long and you all enjoyed the read. Hope you guys don't ever forget how dangerous Acapulco is. Spread the word ;-)

Peace out!

Sort:  

I appreciate your post but have to point out, yes, Acapulco is safe if you are at the ultra luxurious Princess hotel which is behind multiple gates with armed private security. For the locals and business owners however, it is in fact very dangerous.

I recently did a video sharing my insights on the subject after being here in Acapulco for three weeks.

Give it a look -