You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Post Deleted - I No Longer Support This Blockchain

in #anarchy6 years ago

I really appreciate your honest self reflection here, I think the best teaching comes from student teachers, those who share their journey as they evolve. One thing that gets way out of balance in some of my unschool circles is compassion and responsibility. Some unschoolers are super compassionate, but fail to teach their children about taking honest responsibility for themselves and the impact they have on others. This is not a stereotype of unschoolers, but definitely a small trend. Even things like the type of food they eat or how much technology they use, responsibility isn't always taught. They are encouraged to do whatever they want, and are not taught that red 40 and HFCS are actually toxic poisons. Its a beef I have with many single issue movements, they are taken to an extreme and become out of balance.... Anyway, I have been a vegetarian since 2003. I eat eggs and honey so I am not a "vegan". I started eating fish last year after my body began to crave it. In college people would get MAD at me for being a vegetarian. They would get in my face and yell at me at parties. I learned very quickly that my eating habits are no one's business but mine, unless they ask, and I share my reasons calmly like you stated above. I appreciated reading this and I appreciate you!