Saw whet owl leaving eaten mice in my driveway - wouldn't mind the free pest control but my young kids play in the driveway

I don't know a lots about owls. I do know that I find it strange when I start to find chewed up mice and mice skeletons in my driveway in or about the same place every day. I have a row of about 6 arborvitae trees that are probably about 20 feet tall where he took up residence. That makes the trees hard to trim at higher levels, so there is an overhang on to my driveway of branches. This baby owl decided to make a nest here, and regurgitate mice onto my driveway, where my kids play and bounce balls.

I didn't want to hurt the owl and I know they are nocturnal; so they'd vulnerable in the day if I could get up high enough on a 10 foot step ladder to take a picture. I eventually did. I didn't touch him or hurt him in any way. I needed to get rid of him because I can't have dead rodents where little kids are playing.

I ended up leaving a spot light plugged in for a few nights pointed at the trees and he went away and found a new home. He could've moved further into the same trees, where the rodent bodies would've fallen into grass and thick brush for all I I know. I just needed to get him to stop dropping his prey on my driveway.

Here is my best picture.
DSCN0004.JPG

Here are my other two that aren't as good.
DSCN0005.JPG

DSCN0009.JPG

Here is a picture I found on the internet, so you can see one better for reference.
Saw whet owl - David Hemmings.jpg
Photo credit: David Hemmings

I am fairly sure I identified the owl properly. Do you bird experts agree? I think this is the same type of owl. I live in the Philadelphia, PA area. They say in some articles I read, that these birds do live in the Northeast US. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Sort:  

I don't know but i hate owls. They always seem kinda evil to me. Well that's maybe becaise of the idea i have conceived in my mind about them.

They are just stealthy and powerful. So many birds put themselves out in the open to be challenged for territory...these guys are hunters that help control rodent populations. They serve a good purpose in nature's grand scheme of things.

owls are wonderful ++++

It looks like a Saw Whet Owl to me. During the day tends to perch in very concealed places, and depends on this for its safety. It just holds still, and can be incredibly tame appearing. Actually they are ferocious hunters for their size. Please consider using #birding for posts like this so we can build a birding community.

I'd be happy to use #birding in the future. If you look at my blog from yesterday, you will find some other bird pictures as well from Cancun that I took. Thanks for the vote of confirmation that I think I identified the owl properly.

Here is a link to that post for a shortcut:
https://steemit.com/travel/@inspire1/l4n6ytde - flamingos, swans (black & white), a macaw, maybe another bird too?

I can imagine you don't like finding chewed up mices and skeletons .. but I just love the owl. It's mainly because my two year old is an owl fan since she could just saw a few words.. and then she pointed: oeeeeeeh (lol) ...
He looks adorable .. maybe you can make a pact with him? No skeletons, and you give him access ;)

No question about it. Among the bird family, it is one of the more imposing, yet cute animals. Free pest control by natural selection is something I am all for.

Congratulations @inspire1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-23T00:34:39
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 71.50/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 16.20% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @inspire1!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!