Love that will last a lifetime

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was January 4th and Chad had his 9th birthday!

Chadsnow.jpeg

So crazy to have someone with you for 9 years of your life, that is a long time for me, it is almost one third of my whole existence!!

I remember the first time I saw him, he was in a pen with 3 of his siblings and I was just in love with the colour of his fur. As I watched him I noticed right away that he was different than the other pups he was roomed with. This little copper boy was so calm and docile unlike his rambunctious litter mates who were jumping and biting and running around.

()

I had just returned from Australia and was at my former husbands gramas house when I asked him for the millionth time Can we get a puppy? The answer was always No but I had gotten in the habit of asking because everyone knows; You miss 100% of the shots you don't take - Gretzky. So I felt like repetition was in my favour.

Pauls Grama heard me ask for a puppy and looked at him and said Just get her the dam puppy if she wants one so bad

Could I believe my ears? Did she really tell her grandson to let me get the puppy? Could this be, it only took 9 months of begging and I finally get what I want?!!!!

As soon as he started to cave I said I know exactly where the one I want is, I have already seen him 3 times and I will be surprised if he is still available, we should go right now and see if we can get him!!!

So off we went to go see he who would soon be named Chad!

I remember arriving and seeing him, he was under a little blanket and some of the other dogs were biting at him and jumping on him. He was little fatter than the others which could have just been his puffy fur and he was still quite lethargic. I had never picked him up before because part of me knew if I had picked him up I would never be able to put him back down.

The lady gave him to me and I held him, he just cuddled up against my neck and didn't make any sounds. He was so cute but so calm. Suddenly I realized that he could have health problems, he could have downs or he might be unable to run around, maybe that was why he was laying there being bullied by his litter mates?

I grabbed a little red clothe ball the size of a mini mandarin orange and I put him on the floor and rolled the ball in front of him. He took one look at the ball and started bounding after it across the floor!

This sealed the deal, he wasn't sick or slow he was just a sleepy little guy who didn't like to make a lot of noise! This is the jackpot of little dogs I thought!

Perfect I will take him I said! And the rest was history!

4493_193171805071_7014241_n.jpg
Chad in 2009 in my housecoat pocket so small still, looking up at me with his adorable little face.

171179_10150353151165072_1219576_o.jpg
Chad with his cousin after his cousin Kiki (who was having some biting/barking issues) poor Chad had an ear infection and his ears were all oily!

523763_10151501348140072_1907447741_n.jpg
Chad after a bath, he loved being swaddled and blowdried after his baths lol.

4212_187071985071_1314696_n.jpg
Chad and I doing a photo shoot when he is around 5 months old in the park behind my old house.

383191_10150998047290072_168085029_n.jpg
Chad at work with me, he normally sat under the desk and not on that black chair.

11174910_10155493484530072_3964732758054994626_n.jpg
Chad getting ready for theFight of the Century, Floyd Mayweather Jr. vs. Manny Pacquiao boxing match!

IMG_0513.jpg
Chad and I getting ready to hit the road on this vintage bike!

IMG_0514.jpg
Some people say that people look like their pets, I mean common he's blonde and I am brunette....

Chadbday1.JPG
Life has gone by, experiences have been had, love has been shared and my little boy is 9

I wonder if he would have chosen me the way I chose him, sure hope so! Love him to the moon, Happy Birthday Chado!
I promise to take care of you until forever.

Follow me @kylaki if you want to hear more about my life with Chad or if you want to see what else I'm up to in Canada and around the world!

As always comments, upvotes and resteems are very much appreciated ❤️
Canada Banner .png
Banner by @bearone

Sort:  

he is soooooo cute :) happy b chad :*

isn't he though <3

Thank you for the bday wishes!!

Happy b-day Chad! live a long and happy life next to your mommy!

Thanks for the bday wishes! I took him snow shoeing today and he was running around like crazy the whole time so I think he has lots or years ahead of himself! Many more adventure lay ahead!

Happy birthday chad! Looks like you guys have a wonderful relationship!

Chad says Thanks @shinedojo for the birthday wishes!!! He is excited to be 9 now, he says it's 63 in dog years!

Nawwwww Happy Birthday Chad!
Chad would have absolutely chosen you! Who else would let him hang out in the pocket of their bathrobe? AND take him vintage motorbiking, let him watch fights, etc? He's got the best life! Hope you guys are together for ages and ages and for heaps more adventures!

Thanksssss!! Yah I think he loves his life with me, we have had a lot of adventures! He is pretty lazy but Im sure we will see a lot more in the years to come! I wonder what we will get up to next?

Chad is one happy dog... He reminds me a bit of my Aki (shi-tzu) :)

Yah he is totally a happy boy! He is actually a Maltese Poodle cross. Funny they said he would be around 8 or 9lbs but he's 15lbs! Perfect size, big enough to take on hikes small enough to take to the office!

Ohh, so you live in some normal country where u can take your dog with you on work... How cool, here workers don't have any rights :(

Well not exactly, not every office will allow dogs. I think I had a bit of a special situation, there are dogs in some shops and offices but in most there are not.
Chad is hypoallergenic so he doesn't cause an allergic reaction to people who are allergic to dogs. He is also small and super quite, he sits under my desk all day, half the time people don't even know he is there!
So I would say on average in canada you are not allowed to bring your dog to work, its not the government regulating this though it is the individual employer.

Than your dog is really amazing... Mine often sleeps beneath my table at home :)

Cute dog!

Aww thanks, it was his bday yesterday!!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 23:14:37
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 78.35/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank