Troubles with gecko

in #animals3 years ago

IMG_5897.jpg

It happens when something goes wrong ... Geckos have been living with us for several years and they have always molted on their own. But this time something went wrong ... The yellow gecko girl could not get rid of her old skin. The moist cave, which is always in the terrarium, did not help. The skin dried, completely covering her eyes. She needed my help.

Several times a day, I moistened her dried skin with water, sprayed or applied wet sponges. Then I very carefully, millimeter by millimeter, peeled off her old skin. I acted very carefully so as not to harm her.

Finally, I succeeded! I let her rest for a couple of hours, and then immediately gave her food, because while the dry skin closed her eyes, she did not eat. Geckos react to food stirring, but she could not see and as a result could not eat.

I have to admit there was a moment when I panicked. I thought that I would take her to my daughter, who is more experienced. But luckily I did it, and now both geckos are happy and well fed.