Tips for taking care of your pet in summer

in #animals7 years ago

140606120403_1_900x600.jpg

Hello everyone ! This post Is going to be a bit different. Today I am gonna talk about how to take care of your pets in the summer hot days. I have decided to write about this for two reasons. The first one is that it's the beginning of summer and the hot days are yet to come. But the main reason that inspired me to do this is my own dog Max. A few days ago it was really hot in my town and because of this he was very weak and he had troubles with his breathing. But I took care if him and fortunately he is feeling better now. Anyway, here are my tips for you and your lovely pets.

pexels-photo-24104.jpg

Provide your pet with fresh water

The most important thing in this hot days for your pet (and for you as well) is to drink plenty of water. Make sure their always have a bowl with fresh water. It will be even better if you can change it every few hours so your pets could drink more fluids anytime they need and want.

pexels-photo-87383.jpg

giphy1.2.gif

Don't forget to leave them a bowl with food

Despite the hot weather, your pet still needs food to get the essential nutrients that supply energy. It's up to you what kind of food you are going to give your dog: wet or dry. In the summer I prefer to give my dog wet food in the early morning or in the evening, and dry kibble through the whole day because I can't spend the entire day at home. But as I said, it all depends on you and your pet's preferences.

golden-retriever-dog-food-shutterstock_129309548.jpg

Make your pet a cool place

If you can't spend the whole day with your pet, it's good to make them a nice and cool place where they can be. For example, prepare a room for your pet (it's not necessary the room to be only for your pet: you can make your own bedroom or any other room in the house) which can be provided with cool and fresh air. It will be perfect if you leave an open window in this room at night and close it when you are leaving the house or when it's getting really hot outside. This way if your pet is feeling too hot when you are gone they can go in that room and cool down.

giphy2.gif

Change your pet's bed

When the hot days begin you should make sure that your pet's bed it's not crowded with blankets or even the whole bed is too warm for them. If the bed of your pet is better for cold months of the year, leave them only a thin peace of clothing or you can do what my dog prefers: he sleeps on the bare floor with nothing under him. If you have a marble floor at home it's also a good idea to leave your pet there in the summer.

1622-5581e2360cd58.jpg

So this are the things that I did for my dog when he wasn't feeling well in hot days. Hope this tips will be useful for you and your pets.
Buy from me!

pexels-photo-186447.jpg

Sort:  

Nice to see you care of your dog during hot summer days!

If you're a dog lover I invite you to see me posts about Django :)

I'd appreciate your upvotes and comments ;)
More of him is coming soon to my blog so stay tuned

thank you, following you already

Thank you very mutch :)

It is very important to be hydrated this summer. And we shouldn't forget that responsibility for the loved ones around us. Elderly are at risk as well so must be watchful. Nice post!

Exactly, thank you

Congratulations @fany.kru! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!