Smiling for the Camera is a Learned Behavior?

in #animals3 years ago

They say that smiling when you get your picture taken is a learned behavior. This is why when children smile for the camera it sometimes looks over exaggerated and silly.

This was not always a behavior that needed to be learned. When cameras were first invented it wasn't a custom to smile. When looking at old black and while photos of my ancestors they appear very serous and unfriendly looking. As I recall from school this can also be seen in old presidential photos such as those of Abraham Lincoln.

This is a picture that I took of a bonobo at the zoo around 10 years ago. When I looked at the photo I was shocked that he smiled for me as I snapped the photo. Perhaps enough smiling families took pictures next to him that he learned that when he saw someone taking a photo he knew it was time to smile. Bonobos are Great Apes and one of the most intelligent creatures on the planet.

Unfortunately the flash shined off the glass that was between him and me and caused some ugly glare.

Thanks for reading. BTW I haven't posted in a while and this is actually my first blog post on Hive. My previous posts were published on Steem, before the fork.

Sort:  

!BEER

!PIZZA
!BEER

Connect

Trade


@rentmoney! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @eii.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


Hey @rentmoney, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @ninjamike! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Well... THIS is a surprise...😎 Hope all is well with you @ninjamike.

I'm full of surprises. Getting used to posting on Hive with all the different communities, etc.

I saw the banner that you had made for you. Pretty cool!

Yeah, there's a tremendous amount of communities now- sometimes hard to choose between. There are some people who have formed multiple ones for weird reasons that just sit idle.

The banner was an opportunity to help support @kidsisters new business venture😎 I was happy to give Srey-Yuu additional encouragement with a payed for service.

I need a little help. When I make a post in a certain community it shows up under 'All Posts' on my profile. But the post does not show up under the 'Blog' tab on my profile. I'd like every post I make to show up under my 'Blog' for better visibility. It's probably something really simple but for the life of me I can't figure it out.

Hey @ninjamike... With PeakD you can select community posts from drop down menu and select to publish on your blog at the same time.

image.png

With other front end editors, you may have to re-blog to your page separately by opening newly published work on community page, then scroll down to bottom as you would for re-posting other users articles.

I used hive.blog to create those posts. Reblogging to myself worked perfectly. It never would have occurred to me to do that. I just started using peakd a couple days ago and I like it much better so from now on I will just have to remember to click 'include in blog' when I create a post. Thanks a ton.

I'm happy to have helped...😎