PEACOCKS ON THE HOMESTEAD?

in #animals6 years ago

What do you guys think?


An idea doesn't have to be a good one in order to be an idea, but it still might be. This has been something that I've thought about for a while, and I was wondering what you all thought. Are peacocks (peafowl) a good idea for an animal to have on the homestead?

ARE YOU SERIOUS?

Yup, I sure am. You see, recently we traded our pot-bellied pigs for some goats, and the place that we traded them to had some peacocks running around. They plan to hatch some babies out in the spring, and we could pick some up for our homestead. The opportunity is at least there, but would such a thing actually be a "good idea?"

FOR WHAT PURPOSE?

Here is where the big picture comes into play. I don't mind having mouths to feed, but I kind of need a reason to feed those mouths. On the homestead, we believe that animals should have a purpose, so most are used for milk, eggs, or meat, or a combination of those purposes. Others may also help trim the yard or be used to pull heavy loads, but a purpose is still a purpose. For example, since we aren't going to eat a dog, since it doesn't lay eggs, and since we aren't going to milk a dog, none of those particular purposes for us to have a dog. A dog could be a shepherd for our herd or flock, or perhaps be a guard dog though, so other options do exist.

Then the question is raised, would we eat a peacock? That seems a little drastic to kill sich a beautiful creature just to make a sandwich. I guess the same would go for their eggs, since they could hatch out cute little babies. Do people eat peafowl or their eggs anywhere else in the world? The internet says that people do... I don't suppose that anyone milks them, do they?

On the flip side, they could just be eye candy on the homestead, but then again, so can flowers. Flowers don't make noise, don't fly, and don't poop on your truck either, so I'd go with flowers over peafowl if having something pretty to look at was the only option for finding a purpose.

If you saw my recent macrophotography photo shoot with a peacock feather then you already know how beautiful they are. Since we don't live that far from Cotter, AR (AKA "Trout Capital USA") we could potentially sell the feathers to some of the fly fishing shops in the area as material to make flies for fly fishing out of.

Another option would be to use the peafowl as a "cash crop" by raising and breeding them to sell the offspring. I just did a quick search of the "going rate" for peafowl, and several sites get about $50 each for them. Selling little peafowl for $50 could be pretty profitable. Since the peahens will lay up to 12 eggs per clutch, a female peafowl would bring in about $600 a with each brood she hatched out, which isn't that bad. Since they can lay up to three cycles during a breeding season, by collecting the fertilized eggs things could become even more profitable. Also, each peacock can successfully mate with up to about four peahens...

Obviously, money isn't everything, but an animal should still serve a purpose on the homestead in my opinion. What do you think, could this actually be a good idea, or is this a foolish @papa-pepper pipe dream? Either way, it's nice to have the option to raise some peafowl if we want to, I'm just not sure if we should actually try. Thoughts?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-peacocks

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I have relatives that have Peahens and coincidentally they are in Arkansas. I have messaged them to find out if they eat the eggs or the hens. I have not seen a peacock on the place. I will comment again when I hear back from them. In my opinion though... You wouldn't eat the peacock, you would occasionally eat a peahen. I'll know in a bit if the eggs taste good and I'll pass the info along. @lahvista

Wow! Thanks. I'll upvote this to raise visibility and we will await your reply. Thank you!

So far I have heard from one who says the meat is delicious. It could be another day before I hear from the ones who actually own the birds.

And we have one yes on eating the eggs.

They could be very noisy, if I remember correct...

Absolutely a great animal to have, they're different than almost anything else you would find. They're beautiful as well as a friendly bird. They're very nosey though, so keep that in mind. Always following you in places you wouldn't expect.

Yeah, I noticed the noise, but so are goats and guinea fowl.

outrageously beautiful creature :)

Peacocks look so beautiful when they expand all of their wings and they wave them. That is the most beautiful thing man. I remember my uncle used to have them and i always visited him to see Peacocks.

They sure do look marvelous with their tailfeathers spread.

Peacocks are so very beautiful creatures, they are lovely birds and look even more beautiful expanding their wings. But tell me don't they run away if u cut them lose or can u just let them.

So exotic looking, all that to show off to the other sex! lol Show offs!

They are beautiful birds...

peocock is one of the most colorful creatures on earth and it make the nature also beautiful

They truly are magnificent however I do agree that they don’t serve much of a purpose. If you are happy with that then go for it but if they need to have a purpose, there are better (less attractive) birds. There are many fancy chicken breeds although none come close to a peacock!

Always wanted to live on a farm and have livestock, and peacock.

They are loud so keep that in mind.

I think you should keep them. They are one of God’s beautiful creatures. Here is a thought. Why not offer an Art class for a small fee the opportunity to come a paint pictures of the animals on the homestead. Some of the worlds best artists made their fortunes with pictures of animals. Ie. Tasha Tudor, Arnold Lobel! Just a thought!

Love your post(s)...so...upvoted!



Note: This reply post is manually curated and not an automatic bot.

I have never raised them but they seem to go wild sometimes. When I was searching for a house there were a few that came with peacocks because the owner couldn't catch them.

I. LOVE. YOU. <3 Thanks for posting :))))

esas son unas avez muy hermosas

I never eat this yet..I think when I have opportunity I want try cook peacock so funny and delicious if I can...goodman for @papa-pepper.

wow nice post
this is looking very nice
thanks for sharing
keep it on

woww this is a very beautiful beautiful bird that tease,
is this the result of cattle @papa-pepper.

Good work,very nic post,

good post thanks for sharing..

Lovely ,, peacocks and their bright colours..

wow...beautiful animals.
i love animals.
so i love your post..dear @papa-pepper.

I hope to see photos of them strutting their stuff.

Good work,very nice post 👍

the idea is very brilliant, peacock is very beautiful, now this type of bird is very rare and hard to find.

I vote yes. I tried to get some eggs for the last 2 years but no luck. Good luck!

Hmmm.. so I've got a buyer? LOL

Possibly or maybe a trade?

That sounds good... but it'll be a while until I've got any.

Very beautiful animal..

IMG_20180125_125525.jpg

I think it is a great idea! I love the way they sound. I know that a sweet sound doesn't 'add' to the homestead per se, but it would be different. Selling the babies would be sweet too!

Nice to see a great animal to have, they are individual than almost anything else you would find. They are pretty good and a friendly bird. They're very nosey though, so keep that in mind. Lovely ,peacocks and their bright colours.. Always following you in places you wouldn't expect.
great to share Sir
thanks

I vote against the peacocks/fowl. My Aunt used to raise a number of different exotics. The peacocks required a lot of space, they were quite noisy and they caused quite a bit of damage to her gardens when they escaped the barn/pen.

With their size and weight, they can make light work of a chicken wire fence. She eventually allowed them to roam the yard and return to the roost at their leisure.

But... they were surprisingly good at keeping the mouse population down in the barn. And, of course, they are very beautiful and you can sell the feathers as well as the eggs.

One vote against... got it!

Having them around does add a huge touch of beauty to the homestead. And damn, their eggs are profitable! Guess you could do that.

If they sell for over $500 USD per fertilized dozen, I guess so!.. or maybe I'd have to hatch them first to get those prices.

A good buddy of mine has peacocks, a little noisy but beautiful. They would always land on my truck and poo all over it. But never his, I guess I was an unwanted guest. Lol breed them and sell them if there is a decent market.

Right, I should probably check the local market!

IMG20180116161141.jpg

I also have an eagle friend, a good friend post.

This post made my day @papa-pepper, having peacock would be nice for your eyes because of the beautiful color though flower is good as you said but they are not moving good exercise for the eyes 😂😊❤️

That is hilarious!

oh hell yeah
pretty..and LOUD.
they'll complement the guinea fowl as watch dogs..

I think peacocks are a great investment! If you can crank out $600 from them I would say it is a no brainer! Your posts about them will certainly be entertaining!

On another note, I heard about a story recently where this lady tried to bring her peacock on the plane as her service animal.. It didn't work out so well for her!

image - Thejetset.tv

Oh wow!

I'm going with eye candy ,brotha. I know flowers can be too but having some peacock on your property is really rad.

I just think it would be cool for the kids to have, also for visitors, friends to come and see them would be a kick.

And a cash cow ( or cash peacock in this case) with some little offsprings to sell. That sounds rad as well and potentially some nice extra pocket change :)
signature_2 (1).gif

I feel the same way about animals. We got a dog with a purpose in mind, and right now he’s not quite fufilling that purpose.
I’m surprised there’s a market for these birds. They’re beautiful yes, but what purposes are others buying them for?

Don't know....

Use could use it as a comfort animal...as long as you don't try to take it on an airplane.

not everyone can do, little can ,, you one of them !!

LOL _ I just heard about that!

The St. Louis Zoo has peacock roaming the zoo!

It is pretty cool. One time we were there and the peacocks were stealing food from the groundhogs. They were not amused.

You could also make crafts from the feathers perhaps?

Yeah, I can't think of much use other than art and selling the peafowl.

JGV

it doesn't matter how beautiful it is so long as , its good and edible then it must be very delicious, and that's all that matters.

good morning papa

Awesome, Upvoted, follow and resteem

Good looking animal to have around home, nice post

nice post ...
if u dont mind can u help to vote my post
@nabilah48

I think that peacocks are walking works of art and will give you a host of photo opportunities. So they can also be featured on Steemit and generate cold hard Steem. I think you've already made 2 or 3 posts about Peacocks and have already begun the earning. The business of selling peafowl can also be documented for Steemit and you can even earn while you earn!

Could work. Beauty adds some value to the farm, I would think, though it's not as tangible as a sandwich. Some poultry are good at picking up insects and can eat hundreds or thousands of them, while other birds seem more intent on scratching up and destroying planted areas, eating a lot of vegetable matter. I don't know that much about peacocks, so not sure which group they are in. Beautiful birds for sure.

Thanks man. I know that they should eat some pests, but could also fly into the garden, so I'll have to think about fences. We will see!

Good nice post

There are 2 pages
Pages