Cat Scratch Fever

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

To my fellow animal lovers! In my #introduceyourself post I shared pictures of my fur-babies Calli my dog, and Izzy, my cat. So, I thought I would share Izzy’s story this week as the pictures are quite amusing!

You see, she bites and licks at her belly a lot. One vet thought it was a parasite or bacteria in the soil, the newest vet states it’s probably allergies. She’s always done this, gets medications and it goes away, for a while. Then it always comes back, ever since my boyfriend first got her about 8 years ago. She's lived in about 4 different places and it just ALWAYS comes back. But, sadly this time it came back with vengeance, worse than I’ve ever seen. It was ugly and scary! So off to the vet we went!
The vet thinks she’s making it worse than it is, said she's traumatizing it. So this time along with medication, we are going to keep a cone on her for two weeks, so she can’t bother it while it heals.

izzy2.jpg
OH MY GOSH! XD

Normally, she does have a little bit of a "bitch face", and I say that with love.

izzy1.jpg

I literally cried laughing at my poor Izzy getting used to walking with a cone on. She's usually walking so close to the walls, the first two days with the cone she was scrapping the wall all the way down the hallway, scared the dog each time! I know she hates the cone, but I just can't help it. She's so adorable and funny with it on..

izzy3.png
I never saw something so funny! Am I a terrible fur-mom for laughing at her unfortunate situation? I've been giving her extra love!

Hopefully she heals nicely and it's nothing more serious. A friend recently told me about "Thunder Shirts" for cats, I looked them up and it's supposed to help with anxiety and would help to stop her from getting at her belly. Has anyone used these before? I'm not sure if it would stay on or cover where it would need to, to help her. I would think it's worth trying out for $25-35 rather than buying medications then forcing her to take them, which she hates of course.

So that's Izzy's story with adorable pictures in her silly cone. Thanks for reading about her and I hope her cuteness brought a smile or even a laugh as it did for me =D

Sort:  

I hope Izzy's belly clears up soon!

Thanks! Me too!