Painting to preserve their image. An animal lovers story

in #animals6 years ago

DSCF5117 copy.jpg

My love towards animals started at a young age. Children seem to have this innate love for creatures, as if it were a basic rule of existence. Love all creatures of earth, and I did. I craved to have a pet, but had to live vicariously through my
paternal grandmother or my maternal uncle. I would be able to visit my grandmother in her cabin, where she would spend her summers and enjoy the company of her golden cat Jasmine. She would walk soundlessly into my room, jump lightly on my pull out sofa bed and pur loudly as she pushed her head into my hand. The warm vibrations of her purs were soothing, and it has remained one of my fondest memories.

DSCF5113.jpg

I not only loved cats, but also dogs. My Uncle would invite me to his farm house, an hour away from Bogotá, another magical place, and I would run through the fields with the country dogs. They were always happy and playful and always knew I belonged to their pack.

Like many people, I still feel this deep connection with wildlife, and it hurts me whenever I unwillingly stumble upon those grotesque videos that show an animal being mistreated, suffering, or inevitably dying because of our selfish ways. it was because of the starving polar bear that I did the only thing that I thought I could do.

Paint images of animals.

DSCF5109.jpg

DSCF5108.jpg

DSCF5107.jpg

DSCF5112.jpg

20180111_093225.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know your thoughts on the matter.

Have a lovely day!

Sort:  

FANTASTIC - the Polar bear I really liked [drew one once, myself & mailed it to my dad ].

The wolf I enjoyed too ♦♦ When in Yellowstone Park once, I came across a Lone wolf as I walked thru the Parking lot. QUESTION: Is your picture of a dog, or a wolf?

You have talent . Keep going.

Jan

Hi and welcome to Steemit. Great post. As you are new would you like me to resteem this post? What resteeming does is publishes your post on my blog helping it to gain more exposure and potentially increase your votes. This can be a massive help for newcomers to the platform. Thought I'd ask your permission first though. If you have any questions then please don't hesitate to ask me or other members of the platform as we are all more than happy to help. :)

Sure ! that is very nice of you @mudcat36 . I would really appreciate a resteem!!

Upvoted, resteemed, and now followed. If at any point you need a hand then shout me. When I started on Steemit other experienced users helping me out was a big part of what helped me stick to the platform. I'll keep an eye on your blog and if I can help by the occasional resteem and upvote then I will. Greetings from the UK, many blessings, and Steem on.

thank you!!! how can I find you on discord?

Funnily enough I've never used discord. Not that I'm adverse to it or anything, but rather because I know I'd not get much done. I already spend quite a bit of time on Steemit. I have been considering it though as lately the dreary weather that accompanies winter has left me indoors quite a bit. In the mean time getting a hold of me in comments on any of my posts no matter the topic is always open. If you do a write up or post that's really exceptional I'll also happily pay to put it into promoted. Not a kings sum, but enough to hopefully give it a boost. Outside of that I'll keep popping by your blog and resteeming various efforts you put in to help you along.

Nice artwork!
Hope you can follow me and check my posts..😊

thanks for the read, and I am following you. Are you following me? @ameriza

Followed u.👍

Wow, you're a really talented artist.
True art comes from the heart, that's most probably why these are so stunning.
Really good job!

I love animals as well. I have a cat (half Norwegian forest cat, half European short hair).

Beautiful paintings! They are like cosy miniature worlds.

Wou, tu arte es extraordinario, felicitaciones.
Los osos polares transmiten energías llenas de amor, me encanta.

Nice to come across a fellow animal lover :)

Beautiful art :) Llama and the fox are my favorites :D
Resteemed ^^

Hey there and welcome! Those are absolutely gorgeous! Wow! Thanks for resteeming @kristyglas

Congratulations @sissyprints! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sissyprints! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!