South African Antelope Confusion

in #animalsunday5 years ago

Bontebok vs Blesbok Antelope

Difference between these two antelope is confusing when seeing them out on in the open grasslands, to start with Blesbok are more abundant whereas the Bontebok are vulnerable, sightings in private game reserves certain markings are the only thing to tell them apart.

Animal Bontebok

Bontebok has a greater area of white around the back rump, with lower legs are mostly completely white. Bontebok eyes are not as visible, with a white patch marking that usually meets a white patch marking from above the eyes meeting.

Darker shading on the Bontebok almost going into purple indicates the possibility of right identification, being related to the Blue Duiker.

Animal - Bontebok

First to photo's captured at the Tala Nature Reserve, this I think may be a Bontebok. Second two photo's taken at Oribi Gorge look to be blesbok on the move in a bigger herd of antelope.

The photography may all be of the Blesbok and not a Bontebok, that is what makes nature interesting. Slightest difference could be a huge difference at the end of the day.

Animal Antelope Blesbok or Bontebok

Blesbok are farmed, meat is popular in making venison biltong, popular on farms where hunters are allowed to shoot for game hunting, I do not support hunting, each to their own, I enjoy biltong, therefore will not critisize the hunter, biltong does not just magically appear on shelves!

Animal Blesbok Bontebok

Blesbok are plentiful one of the three most seen antelope grazing on grass or down at the waters edge, they are seen throughout South Africa, with good breeding, farming the Blesbok is more often than not the antelope you will see.

Rhino family

Source

Thought for Today: ** "You cannot chase two antelope at once." ~ Zulu Proverb**


Animal Sunday Photography My Contibution @homeartpictures

All photography is my own (please ask permission before you use any of my photography) Photography with Canon PowerShot A530 (2010) and Canon PowerShot SX160 IS (2017)



Communities I Support: #qurator #steemitbloggers #teamsouthafrica#steemitbuilder

@steemitbloggers

@joanstewart

Sort:  

yes you are right friend. From first view both are looks same..
Nice post thanks for share with us..

So close, yet so far. Teaches us never to judge a book by the cover!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Joan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

They do look very alike @joanstewart, I was a bit confused when we were at Champagne Sports Resort but realised in the end that it was Blesbok that we saw there. Nice photos!

Blesbok are so common apparently they do not keep them in Kruger Park. Wonder if when in close proximity, if cross-breeding occurs, mixed gene pool. What is astounding is how common one is, the other is rare.

Nature has a way of playing tricks on us with species that look very similar Lady Joan, Dragonfly species are a nightmare and so are the raptor birds and many others. It takes a lot of time to identify a certain species and it's nice to see that you have managed to do just that! Blessings!

I would not even start to imagine identifying dragon flies, firstly they move so fast, your knack in photography and in knowledge, is amazing Stephen.

Amazing animals and photos :) thanks for sharing

Thanks for visiting and comment @niko3d

Hey @joanstewart

You are right. It is really hard to see the difference but absolutely important for the future of the Bontebok I think.

I have tried Biltong with my South African friends in Bahrain a few years back. Delicious! Tried a few Brai's too. A lot of drinking going on though. 😁

Gaz

Braai's are good fun, people normally let their hair down and do excessive talking, eating and drinking.

Biltong is a treat, great to take anywhere with you, something I do enjoy, biltong can be made from many different meats from beef, ostrich, variety of antelope are used, Kudu being very popular.

Thanks for visiting @cheese4ead

I think it was Beef that I tried. Either way it was gooooooooood! 😁

Exactly why I would never be a vegan, I would fail the test on the very first day....

Lol. Me too. 😁

They are both magnificent creatures, but I think the Bontebok might be slightly prettier! I love the beautiful lyre-shaped horns that both species have! Thanks for all the info about these lovely beasties! 😊

Glad you found it interesting @thekittygirl I agree the Bontebok is a very handsome animal.

Huh... I never even considered eating antelope, whichever kind they are. I guess it would make sense in an area where antelope are common. We eat deer here and they are very similar to antelope, but it is not typically found on the shelf at a grocery store. I don't think I could find antelope anywhere though unless I ordered it online.

I won't though. I don't eat antelope. :-D

We will get venison meat on the grocers shelves, not often but a lovely meat to cook in a potjie. When culling takes place is most likely the time you will find it in stores.

Culling normally happens when there is an abundance of animals, possibly land unable to sustain the numbers, may cull before droughts take affect, so selling the meat is the only option to recoup, waste not want not.

Potjie-kos "poi-key-cos” (pot food) is another popular way of cooking here in South Africa, venison (any game) meat for slow cooking makes a tasty treat.

Recipe

Family and friends gather and chat well into the night when spending an evening together around the pot, this has developed into quite a large tradition in having "potjie kos" competitions, a tasters treat having exceptional chefs showing off their recipes, meat selection obtaining brilliant tastes (then swilled down with a beer)_.

Source

I learned so much just from your comment! Thanks for that!

I never would have guessed that's how "poi-key-cos" is pronounced! Also, do you call any wild game 'venison'? Here, we refer only to deer meat as venison. I'm not sure what we call antelope. I guess it's just antelope. :-D

"_ In culinary terms, venison can be meat from deer, elk, moose, caribou, antelope and pronghorn._"

We refer to most antelope wild meat as venison, sometimes label will specify which animal. Ironically our biltong (spiced dried meat) nearly always lets you know, since beef biltong is a lot cheaper than say Kudu or Ostrich biltong.

Wild birds in the Ostrich are farmed and we get the meat which is super lean and healthy to eat.

Wild pig (Warthog) cooked on a spit braai or potjie is delicious as well, many unusual things may be found in restaurants like cane rat or crocodile depending on the region and restaurant.

Ooooh, I've never had ostrich either. I didn't realize that they were a game animal in some places. Here they are so exotic that I don't think most people would even consider eating them. I no longer eat meat of any kind, so I will likely never try it myself...but I'm a bit saddened that I didn't have the opportunity to try while I was still an omnivore.

They look the same for me. I won't know it Blesbok or Bontebok!

They are very similar, very easy to confuse.