You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Hive Spam Network

in #anti-abuse4 years ago

FTG spent a bunch of steem to upvote a post with a single link

So what? what posible harm could that cause?

I agree a list like that if used well could hold value to the platform, especially when we accounts with stolen identities and plagiarized material. However themarkymark has proven himself to be far to dishonest and vindictive to have anything to do with any black list.
I could give you my very real grievances with him but there seems to be little point at this stage. Snd would be utterly pointless unless you were inclined to investigate what I am saying with tools that are not available to me as you would need to go back a fair and find at least one original post made by berniesanders which has been ether deleted or edited.
I dont make shit up

Sort:  

Buying votes removes the proof of brain consensus. Marky was one of the few that actually cared about the quality of posts his bot voted on, and removed votes for low effort/spam posts voted by buildawhale.

I am also under no illusions that Marky is perfect, and out of the thousands of accounts blacklisted, I'm sure there were some that weren't as worthy as others. What I do know is if I were to get blacklisted, spamming obscenities and threats wouldn't be the path I would personally choose to get the matter resolved (not saying you did this, but I've seen it happen over and over). Reasonable people are more likely to be met with reason, and emotional people are more likely to be met with more emotion.

Whose steem got burned?

FTG's steem didn't get burned. He sent it for a vote, and the vote was given, then taken away because it didn't meet the standards for buildawhale. However, the voting power he paid for couldn't be magically returned, since it was used for a post, so technically it was Marky's to burn.

I will say that the ToS of buildawhale could have been better, such as making users agree to the terms before they could ever use the bot, but the fact of the matter is those were the longstanding rules of the bot, and like it or not it's how it was applied to everyone, not just FTG.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment