The Car Show - July 12, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

in #antiquecars5 years ago

Road trip - Car show3 crop July 2019.jpg
’52 Chevy pickup

Thursday night we’d headed out to a car show, but it had been cancelled due to threat of thunderstorms. So at the end of the road trip, we went to another local one, held at Tom’s Hot Dogs in Whately, Mass every Friday night in the season.

Road trip - Car show2 crop July 2019.jpg

This was my favorite last night. We are more fond of Fords, but this truck is a beauty. It is registered in Vermont, so I assume it came from there. It also happened to be the year my husband was born.

Road trip - Car show1 crop July 2019.jpg

I loved this wooden box, and the work on the bed of the truck.

Road trip - Car show5 crop July 2019.jpg
‘64 Chevy Impala SS

This car is my husband’s favorite. He’s seen it many times at this show.

Road trip - Car show6 crop July 2019.jpg

The only thing he doesn’t like about it is that it is an automatic. He says if you have a 409 engine, you must have a standard transmission.

Road trip - Car show4 crop July 2019.jpg

Road trip - Car show7 crop July 2019.jpg
The obligatory engine shot….

Cheetah car.jpg
Bill Thomas's Cheetah, 1964

There was a Cheetah there, from the early 60’s. I didn’t take a picture of it, as I thought it was too odd looking. It has absolutely no rear end, especially when viewed from the back.

There were around 30 cars I think, of all kinds. Some were perfect like the truck, and some in stages of remodeling. Some were much older, and some were fairly recent. There was even a hot rod lawnmower.

My husband had a ’69 Camaro he’d done extensive work to when I met him in 1974. We sold the car soon after I met him, as the insurance and gas for it was so high. Never got a photo of it. Beautiful turquoise color, side pipes, Cragar wheels, spoiler built into the truck lid, usually jacked up in back. It was a cool car!

Source: Cheetah: https://www.flickr.com/photos/tom-margie/1254395487/in/photostream/

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

That 52 chevy is my dream vehicle! I would trade our modern truck for one in a heartbeat.

We had an old truck like that when I was little, but it was a Ford, I think...

Rachel.Sybil.Darcy.Bston.Sept.1964.jpg