So I'm vegetarian, but today I have eaten a Liofish and I don't feel bad about it. I ...

in #appics4 years ago

... became a vegetarian at first because of compassion for animals, fish was the last thing I was able to stop eating. However, in these past years we started to have a serious invasion of this type of fish in our archipelago. This fish is damaging the coral reefs and even the mangroves. They reproduce very fast. It is like a parasite.

Here people are aware and encourage to order this fish as a meal in local restaurants, or else local fishermen will stop fishing them and catch snapper instead.

Am I doing wrong? The Lionfish is still an animal. Sometimes circumstances are strong enough to make you do what you don't like to do.

e5d5419739ea8419b1cbca973ff0b1d0

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

Interesting dilemma for a vegetarian. But I think you did a right thing :) The balance in nature should be restored and maintained.

thanks for the suppory bro!

I am not a vegetarian and I do love fish lol, so of course I see nothing wrong with it, ENJOY! My favorite fish that we can catch here in iur surrounding lakes up in the mountains of B.C. Canada is Rainbow Trout. Mmmm, delicious! We also eat and love Salmon, Halibut and Cod.

😅 I think you will like Lionfish too!

I will have to try it out some time if its available here in British Columbia Canada, I bet its delicious!

Panama is a long ways from Canada, lol!

I am vegetarian

Una vez al año no hace daño y que tal el sabor?

así es, y bueno el paladar no tuvo queja, cuanxo

cuando* vengan a Bocas deberían intentarlo.

Claro que si, esperemos el proximo año.🙌✨

Cool, i love fish 😋

This post is wrong is so many ways, One you are not a vegetarian for animals when animals are still killed and exploited for vegetarians. If you're a vegan that is much different and then you're still wrong in thinking you have the right to eat this fish cause it was placed and made to become invasive.

So, in the end, you are very wrong in thinking it is justified to eat this poor fish

Hey, thank you for passing by.
I specifically said I am a vegetarian, not vegan, although I am in the process. There is no such a thing of become one overnight. I did stop eating meat for animals. I rather be a vegetarian than a meat eater.
Just a little advice out of respect, it is because of this approach that vegans are hated, perhaps you should think in a better way of encouraging people.

Maybe wrong your right but vegetarian think they are doing better for animals but still make demand for animals to be exploited for other food than meat and other animal products like cloths and such.

Vegan is so much more than a diet it is a whole lifestyle of not exploiting animals for any reason like cloths or invasive animals.

No offense dude but you know nothing about my life, how I dress and what I eat. I’m simply raising an ethical issue here forcing people to reflect on things. Life is not black and white. But if you want to be judgmental without knowing what you’re talking about, go ahead. You’re not helping the cause by acting the way you do.

You even down-vote my post for no fundamental reason, users like you are the ones that make these great platforms unhealthy. Try to think twice next time you react.